We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ann W
London, United Kingdom

Good venue for larger groups

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 06 Mar 2024
Lovely accommodation. Big room with good facilities.
This hotel 8s best suited to large groups. The Gin Bar is
so far way from reception, and lacks atmosphere. The food, and service was good. It days a few days to find anywhere. On Sunday evening we were ushered to our rooms at 8.30pm as the electricity was to be turned off.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 631
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 596
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 695
1.8 km from Misty Hills Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 2 078
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 044
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 044
5.9 km from Misty Hills Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 1 150
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 150
  • Vio.com
1.9 km from Misty Hills Country Hotel
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
R 2 623
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 623
  • eDreams
    R 2 623
7.2 km from Misty Hills Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 2 860
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 860
  • eDreams
    R 2 860
7.4 km from Misty Hills Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Gardens
R 2 170
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 286
  • Vio.com
36.9 km from Misty Hills Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 436
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 436
1.0 km from Misty Hills Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kitchenette
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 275
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 180
  • Priceline
3.5 km from Misty Hills Country Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Family or group unit 9 King or single
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 354
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 172
  • Priceline
3.9 km from Misty Hills Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 040
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 998
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 037
6.4 km from Misty Hills Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Muldersdrift
Reviews (627)
Filter reviews
627 results
Traveller rating
244
206
81
49
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
244
206
81
49
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carnivore restaurant place is beautiful get away gin spa box dawa weekend session scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 627 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2024

Worst expereicne from start to finish - would not recommend to anyone to stay here.

We had no water and were told lie after lie about how it was a municple problem, only for our friends to check a few rooms down and have water, then suddenly the stories changed.

We were not even given one bottle of water for the duration of our stay and staff did not seem at all concerned about us and made little to no effort to resolve the matter.

On checking out we brought this to the managements attention and their words were "maybe we can invite you for another night to come and have a better stay, but no promises" - why even say something like this? We were then promised a refund and this just never happened and were told lie after lie of when we would receive it. After much threatening we eventially got our refund over a month later. We had to report the matter to Booking.com to even receive a response email from Misty Hills...

While I understand issues do occur, the managements handling of this was diusgusting to say the least. the lies, broken promises and total lack of care is shocking. We got the feeling they hoped we would just loose interest in the complaint if they just ignored us and we would let it go...

Further to this, the state of the room was very poor. a number of the lights did not work, the aircon works only as a fan (might need a service or re-gassed) and when ordering room service our dirty plates sat outside our room over night from the previous lunch, even though staff had visited our room.

I have done alot of traveling and can honestly say, this whole experience has been the worst. The staff should really reconsider how they treat customers who have a bad experience, because lying to customers is not a good route and will not get you return customers.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Calvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Recreation Africa, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Dear Valued Guest

We extend our sincerest apologies for the truly disappointing experience you had during your recent stay at Misty Hills on December 31st. The issues you encountered with the water supply and the room's facilities are deeply concerning, and we completely empathize with your frustration and disappointment.

We are genuinely sorry for the miscommunication and the delay in addressing the water issue, causing you inconvenience and distress. Although our team have offered you an alternate room upon your initial report to ensure your comfort, it has not been done promptly, especially considering the wedding. The lack of proper communication and resolution is unacceptable, and we assure you that immediate steps are being taken to address these service deficiencies.

We just want to confirm that indeed we had municipal water issues leading to water locks upon depletion of our property's reservoir, however, we do take responsibility for the unresolved lighting and air-conditioning concerns.

We deeply regret any confusion caused by conflicting information about the water problem. Your experience does not align with the high standards we aim to uphold. Furthermore, the malfunctioning air conditioner and lights only added to your discomfort, and we sincerely apologize for these additional inconveniences.

We completely understand your request for a full refund due to the distressing nature of your stay. We have escalated this matter to our senior management. We are committed to refunding your one night’s stay.

Once again, we apologize for the unfortunate events that marred your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2024

The food was tasty, pool clean, service from staff was amazing, our room was clean and smelled fresh...no bad vibes. It was such a relaxing experience, I would love to go back with my family next time.

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nsibanda291
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Recreation Africa, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Misty Hills – and that you felt so at home! We pride ourselves in making each experience a memorable one for our guests and it’s good to know we are succeeding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2023

Misty Hills Country Hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The thatched-roof bungalows are spacious with lovely interior décor and furniture, and are laid out along many winding brick paths in a lush tropical setting with flowers, shrubs, and trees, some with botanical labels on them. Along the paths are many splendid African art carvings, statues, small flowing brooks, ponds, and beautiful scenic views. The grounds have been meticulously planned and laid out, as have the rooms and buildings on the many acres in this resort. Each room, dining area, meeting room, and the reception area are adorned with African art—sculptures, paintings, and historic artefacts/memorabilia, with windows that look out in to the tropical gardens and trees. The service is first class. The accompanying huge breakfast buffet has dozens of choices of fresh fruit, warm and cold meats, special dishes, cheeses, cereals, and pastries, with several people ready to cook any personal preference you may have, as well as table service in the large dining hall with its African motif surrounding you. Of course, the world-renowned Carnivore restaurant is on the Misty Hills grounds and is a real treat for those who enjoy a meal of game in a festive setting with meat delivered to your table on large skewers. There is also a nice dining room with a good lunch and dinner menu adjacent to the reception area. In every way, this hotel is great and a wonderful experience; we’re from Canada and have returned every time we’re in the Johannesburg area.

Room tip: a lovely place to stay
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Recreation Africa, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Misty Hills! We are delighted you took the time to visit and that you had such a positive experience. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2023

I have been to the hotel before but never stayed over so was not sure what to expect. The staff were amazing, especially the front desk. I went on a winter break special and was upgraded for my birthday to an executive suit. Everything was made to feel like I was the only guest there as the staff were always helpful, cheerful. Food for breakfast and dinner which was included was buffet with an option of A La Carte. Breakfast buffet was huge and could set you up for the whole day. I spent my birthday night at the famous Carnivore Restaurant which has to be experienced once in your life or a hundred times. The Maitre D was excellent and asset to the restaurant, greeting me by name as I arrived and the service was again awesome. It is good to see they have kept maintaining the hotel mostly during the slow down of the last few years. I would definitely recommend visiting and staying as long as you can. There is so much to explore in the hotel grounds and surrounding areas. A Very Big Thank You to all the staff for the enjoyable stay from the guy driving the golf buggy, restaurants staff, front desk. See you next year

Room tip: Go in winter, the special breaks are great value and stay as long as you can.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JamieRoss1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Recreation Africa, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2023

Thank you for choosing Misty Hills for your recent stay in Muldersdrift. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time. Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2023

The hotel and facilities are of top quality unfortunately we as the group we did not enjoy the food at the restaurant next to the Bar. They seem to be not preparing fresh food and have limit choice not catering for those who eat either white meat or red meat at the time. Consider a buffet style of catering.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mphomakulane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Recreation Africa, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2023

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Misty Hills. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we are apologise for not meeting all your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews