We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$102
View deal
PricelineUS$114
eDreamsUS$102
Agoda.comUS$102
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
236
201
81
45
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
236
201
81
45
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water features botanical gardens carnivore gin spa weekend venue premises birds background assistance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2021

Avoid this hellhole at all costs.
There were bats in our room.
Rooms did not have locks on door.
Moldy bathroom.
No wifi service.
Noisy neighbors.
Indifferent management.
Lack of maintenance of rooms in general.

Room tip: avoid at all costs. Service levels have declined since the start of COVID
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank donaldanet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty Hills, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Thank you for the time you have taken to bring to our attention the various issues you experienced at our Hotel . We would like to convey our sincerest apologies for the disappointing service and for the delayed response. Please be assured that your comments have received the strictest attention of our Management team.

We have taken note of your valuable comments and please be assured that such matters will be looked into by the relevant department heads.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2020 via mobile

Finally after sorting out a new Tripadvisor account i am finally able to write a review on Misty Hills Country Hotel.
From the beggining to the end was shocking and sad to say the least.
Started off by me contacting the hotel on Friday morning 4 Sep 2020. Spoke to a lady named Lindi or Lindiwe, first thing i asked her is how is breakfast served during this pandemic given covid regulations. She stated Buffet style. Let me just say breakfast was very sad and not served Buffet style. I then spoke to Lawrance the Manager on duty for him to clarify a few things before my wife and i arrive the afternoon. I asked if he could make sure the room was spotless. I can honestly say there was not a spec of dust. Well done for hygiene.

I know the Covid pandemic has affected the world in various ways, but. If you charging the same prices as pre Covid then i think standards and service should be that of pre Covid. I wouldnt mind paying less money for less service..
On arrival the guards take the drivers temp and santizers the drivers hands. At reception you greeted by a dark hallway as you make your way to the checkin desk. At checkin it took about 15 minutes even though we had checkin docs on hand and identification. People please keep in mind, most services not available but prices remain the same as pre Covid.
No problems with the room. It was clean and it had everything we needed. I must point out that out of the 15 channels to choose from 13 was very snowy and not a pleasure to watch. I tried fixing it myself by playing with the arieal however i gave up. Dining at the hotel is almost non exsistant. The Carnivore is open but not worth the prices they asking. (Even more than pre Covid) Thats why my wife and i could count about 15 people in the place when we went to go check it out during peak dinner time. Could have even been 10 people. The Ginbox closes at 4pm or 6pm. So nothing there.
We drove out and had dinner at SilverStar Casino.
Misty Hills is known for their gardens. I am sad to say, it has been neglected and it is no longer been looked after. Most ponds are dry or very empty. There is dead plants eveywhere. The leaves is everywhere. Theres plenty lights out at night or globes that havent been replaced. The breakfast is a shame. And i know what Misty Hills used to serve. Not much to choose from. I wont even go into detail its just a shame to say the least. The service from the staff is very dry and not helpfull at all. They seem very tired and not too eager to assist or put in effort.
Im speaking of a hotel that is rated 4 star here. Cant believe it.
On checkout it was long and again the staff was tired and very arrogant. The reception didnt have any change on hand because i was charged for a cooldrink at breakfast and had to pay upon checkout, which is fine but then have change on hand. Dont have staff scratching in their bags for coins after you charged me R30 for a can of coke.

My advise to people is to stay away from Misty Hills for now. At least until the end of this World pandemic. It is a waste of money and i would reccomend trying other hotels with a 4 star rating.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank 808GEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty Hills, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Thank you for the time you have taken to bring to our attention the various issues you experienced at our Hotel . We would like to convey our sincerest apologies for the disappointing service. Please be assured that your comments have received the strictest attention of our Management team.

We have taken note of your valuable comments and please be assured that such matters will be looked into by the relevant department heads.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020

Booking messed up, sent from pillar to post when trying to fix it. Left without resolutions. Tried to fix issues via telephone after visit and still sent from pillar to post. Property is lovely but service not so much.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Peehma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Dear Peehma,

Please accept our most sincere apologies for what you encountered during your stay and requests not being fulfilled. Rest assured that your experience was not a true reflection of our standards.

Despite this, we hope we can welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2020 via mobile

Lovely venue for both business and personal stays. Conference facilities were comfortable and allowed for activations. Lots to explore at Misty Hills from Gin Pub, Restaurants, Botanical gardens, pool, playground castle for kids. Value for money

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Travel4Life1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty Hills, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post your very positive comments about Misty Hills. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we are delighted that we met your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2020

The hotel is advertised as an up market venue, but the rooms are all but up market, basically dirty and unkempt. The food is ok but the sign posting to the different venues is incoherent and especially at night not easy to follow. The main entrance is not wheelchair friendly. The orchid chamber is a laugh, only 1 orchid.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty Hills, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Misty Hills. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we are apologise for not meeting all your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews