We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Nearby Hotels
EnGedi(Muldersdrift)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Forum Homini Hotel(Muldersdrift)
US$160
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenburn Lodge(Muldersdrift)
US$143
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Random Harvest Country Cottages(Muldersdrift)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Monchique Guest House(Muldersdrift)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avianto(Muldersdrift)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Vue Guest Lodge and Function Venue(Muldersdrift)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverview Spa(Muldersdrift)(Great Value!)
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
211
177
68
40
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
177
68
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarnivore restaurantwater featuresgame meatgolf cartthatched roofafrican experiencegin barbotanical gardensprivate gardenmy fianceroyal suitesouth africathe hustle and bustleconference venuebird lifereception areahome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 524 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2018

The property is very nice and the room was neat and clean. Breakfast was substandard and the dinner and dance offered in the package at Carnivore Restaurant was a nightmare. During the so-called Dinner and Dance we did not receive any service, had to search for waiters (who was unwilling to serve us), no food was served at our table and we once again had to ask unwilling waiters to serve us as they were dancing and having their own New Years celebration. The Dance and the Band : Terrible, terrible, terrible. The band did not take all the patrons in consideration and only played music relating to their own culture. On multiple occasions we requested management to cater for ALL the patrons but this request was ignored. We were not the only guests complaining and this will definitely be the last time we visit this establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AduPreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for the time you have taken to review our property.

This is of utmost importance to us. We take note of the shortcomings and continuously strive for higher standards. The email you sent to our Hotel was well received and we thank you again for your feedback. The valued feedback we received from you was brought to the attention of Management who has carried out a thorough investigation with regards to the issues raised.

Please accept our sincerely apologies for the disappointing service rendered from our Carnivore Restaurant. We have instilled corrective measure to ensure that these issues are rectified.

We hope to welcome you again in future and provide you with a more pleasant and memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed there at christmas for two nights. This complex contains three restaurants. The first night we had diner at the Carnivore. The name speaks for itself: if you like meat this is the right place. The way of serving is original and you get the chanche to eat crocodile, zebra and warthog. But the quality of the food is no more then average. And you don't want to order a bottle of white wine because it comes without a cooler. During the night we didn't sleep that much. There is quiet some noise like birds running on your roof, music being played and the sound of cars driving by on the road next to complex. The next day, december 25, we started with breakfast. This was dissapointing. It was a buffet that lacked choice and the quality of the food was disturbing. During that dat we wanted to visit the spa on the complex but it was closed. We spent our day at the swimming pool. The pool and the setting are nice. The problem is that it lacks space compared to the number of guests. That night only one of the three restaurants was open. There was a buffet but you could also order from the menu, which we did. That could take a while because 'the kitchen' was busy. No problem, we started with a bottle of wine. This time it came with a cooler but de wine itself wasn't cold. An our later the waitress came to tell is that the kitchen was still busy. She couldn't tell if or when our food would come and suggested the buffet. Again a lack of choice and again poor quality. I don't understand why they serve food like this. The next morning we wanted to leave early. We were told that breakfast would open at 5.00 am. To be sure we double checked at the reception. At 5.45 am we were at the restaurant but no breakfast was ready. For us two dissapointing days at misty hills. We will not come there again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kjeld g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and providing us with feedback. This is greatly appreciated because it helps us identify and improve the shortcommings.

We are very disappointed to learn about the poor service you received from us as this goes against what we strive for at Misty Hills.
Please accept our most genuine apologies for the shortfall with regards to the breakfast times, the lack of food choice and the overall dissatisfactory service from our Kitchen.

These concerns have been taken very seriously and were brought to the attention of Senior Management who will ensure to instill corrective measures to rectify these issues.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in future and provide you with a more pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Very good location that is not to far away from home.Stayed over the Christmas weekend.The food is rather average but the tranquillity is very pleasant seeing as the resort is so close to Johannesburg..Carnivore restaurant which is also on the property has a variety of foods and is the ideal setting for that African experience.More could be done to keep guests occupied as the number of activities are limited.All in all I would highly recommend Misty Hills for that weekend break.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Eepoferpoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for choosing Misty Hills for your recent stay in Muldersdrift. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time. Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Stayed in the Rhodes Suite this time. The attached garden / dip pool area truly gives the feel of being in an African jungle. Robert & Adele Forsyth have really gone into minute details to provide every amenity one expects in a high end property - heated towel rods, et al. Once again, I had a super stay.
Thank you Misty team!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your very positive comments about Misty Hills. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we are delighted that we met your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Stayed here for 6 nights for a conference in November 2017. Loved the grounds, if you are a bird lover you will too. Large, comfortable rooms (mine was 822), quiet and well appointed. Friendly staff especially the bartender at the Gin Box. Nice pool area, basic gym, plenty of quiet spots for relaxing. Conference support provided was fantastic (AV set up, catering, etc). Things that could be better: food (though if you are paleo you will like the Carnivore), wifi stability and speed, occasionally the water was turned off in the early morning for no apparent reason.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for choosing Misty Hills for your recent stay. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable time. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we are apologise for not meeting all your expectations. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to host you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews