We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful place but too many unavailable items

This is such a beautiful place and a great concept but their restaurants are nothing to rave... read more

Reviewed 22 February 2020
WayneandMariK
,
Midrand, South Africa
via mobile
Liz

We often go to the Herb garden to escape the rush. Once you there it's hard to believe that you are... read more

Reviewed 12 February 2020
venterea123
,
Midrand, South Africa
via mobile
Read all 22 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Midrand
from US$157,72
More Info
from US$82,18
More Info
from US$1 251,34
More Info
Classic Flight
16 Reviews
from US$169,44
More Info
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
5
5
2
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
5
5
2
4
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2020

What a terrible experience! You would think that after paying an enterance fee there would be a little bit of effort put into customer service. We arrived just after 10:00, excited to be at The Herb Farm for the first time and ordered two eggs florentine for breakfast. After 30mins of waiting, we asked our waitress what is going on and she said we will have our food in 3mins. We decided to pay so long to save time as we had another appointment coming up. After waiting another 15mins we went to the kitchen and spoke to the chef (no manager present) and she said she doesnt know what is going on, they will have it for us in 2mins, after another 10mins, we went to the kitchen again and said rather put it in a takeaway as we had to leave. Another 5mins later they only had one Eggs Florentine ready in a takeaway, still busy preparing the other one. We were so upset, we left. On our way out we passed the manager and explained the situation. Not showing any remorse for this bad service, he said he can only offer us a refund for half our bill. I thought this was an absolute smack in the face, feeling we deserved a full refund having waited over na hour for food that never came. Worst of all is when we got home, we saw that the one takeaway they did give us didnt even have hollandaise with it. Absolutely spoiled our day. Biggest disappointment is the non chalant attitude of the kitchen staff and manager who didnt seem concerned in the slightest. Wish they would put as much effort into customer service as they put into the gardens. I feel bad for our poor waitress - the only friendly face on the whole premise. This place doesnt deserve her.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Cora-Mari v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 February 2020 via mobile

This is such a beautiful place and a great concept but their restaurants are nothing to rave about.
We book for lunch at the bistro at 1pm on a Sunday. We arrived and they wanted to charge us R25pp just to enter the place. I can understand the charge if we were coming to picnic or to walk around the herb gardens but we were booked at the restaurant.
We arrived at the restaurant and they could not find our booking but they have us a table anyway. The table was filthy and we had to find someone to wipe it. Then we waited for ages to get served only to be told that the iced teas on the menu were finished then we were told that most of the food was sold out. It was 1pm, no quiches left and of the four other menu items we chose only one was available.
We decided to leave and see if the restaurant at the children’s play area was any better.
They had one of the iced teas but most menu items were sold out here too so for the lack of choice,three of us opted for the buffet.
The food was very average and the ratatouille vegan option was just sliced Brinjals (not marrows) with sliced tomato and onion and rather bland.
The burger was well presented but took a long time to come.
It is so sad that such a beautiful place with so much potential lacks the service that could make them really popular.
Surely if lunch is mostly sold out by 1pm, you’re not making enough.

We were really disappointed.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank WayneandMariK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

We often go to the Herb garden to escape the rush. Once you there it's hard to believe that you are actually still in the city. The food and service are good. There was a lady playing piano in the garden and it added to the peaceful mood. It's my secret escape.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank venterea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 January 2020 via mobile

Lovely place, although we didn’t go in because we thought R75 for a four old to play in the play yard was far too expensive. We won’t be going back.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank StaceyClaireHodgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2020

What a beautiful farm. Herbs everywhere, a lovely sensory experience for our grandkids and family members. The Playard was amazing. The caregivers were attentive and interacted with the children. We were served by a friendly man, but half of our orders were unavailable. 3 of our family were eventually served food while the other 5 waited for at least 20 minutes for their food. The menus do not reflect what is available. The kitchen must be drastically improved before we would recommend to others. We wont be retur ing for that reason.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Angietiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews