We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel right across from the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We were told to stay here because we flew into Johannesburg from the States and had an early flight to Zambia the next morning. Apparently travel though the city at night can be dangerous so the location allows you to avoid that. The bartender set us up with some late night food and Wifi which was welcomed after a long trip. Very Westernized rooms - nice shower, amenities, etc.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are adequate for a short stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank matthewmV3026XW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCarreira, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear matthermV3026XM
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our elegantly appointed rooms that have full amenity offering in the rooms. I truly appreciate you recommending my property and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Sonia Carreira
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1 378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 1 378 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Airport hotels in most cities in the world leave a bit to be desired. The Intercontinental hotel at Johannesburg airport is a pleasant exception to that rule. It's a 5-star hotel extremely conveniently located next to the airport (3min walk). We arrived in the evening and left first thing in the morning so didn't sample the restaurant but we did sit near the bar for a drink before retiring for the night. The art installation suspended from the restaurant area ceiling, made of porcupine needles, was impressive and mesmerizing. The room lived up to it's 5-star rating. We enjoyed a very quiet and comfortable nights sleep and enjoyed our complementary nespresso coffee in the morning as we got ready to set off. The view from the window looked on to a car park, but that's to be expected given the hotel location. The convenience of us walking out of the hotel and straight into the airport to check into our early morning flight was priceless. If you have a connecting flight in Johannesburg you must certainly consider recharging your batteries at this hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GreekJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCarreira, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear GreekJo
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our elegantly appointed rooms where we focused on comfort and quality and all of the offerings and services our property offers. Thank you for taking the time to recommend my property and for the lengthy review on my property. Thank you once again for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Sonia Carreira
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

The hotel is very nicely decorated, we appreciated the ostrich egg and porcupine quill decorations in the restaurant. The check-in staff was friendly and upgraded us as a frequent traveler. Bellman service was good, and he knew the airport luggage storage was open 24x7. Room was higher up; clean and very quiet, and spacious with a seating area in the curved windows. But the room as very dark. No lights over the bed, making it hard to see in your luggage.

We were late for a full meal, so we opted for a salad at the restaurant. Our waiter (Simon R) was very unimpressive. He was obviously unhappy we didn't want a full meal. We said we would split a salad, as they are often very large. He did not tell us the salad was tiny, and by the time it came after a lengthy wait we didn't want to ask for another. Our beers came only after asking 2x for them, and then more waiting; our salad was long gone. In retrospect we should have eaten at the bar.

Fortunately breakfast service was much better. Our waiter, Cello, apologized that the coffee was not prompt, and he efficiently brought our eggs and the bill when we asked.

Recommend he property due to its convenience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travel-lms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCarreira, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear travel-Ims
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our elegantly appointed rooms that have full amenity offering in the rooms. I would like to apologise for the service you received in our Quills Restaurant for dinner, I can assure you that this is not a norm. I truly appreciate you recommending my property and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Sonia Carreira
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

This was our 4th visit here. So convenient, you can walk very quickly from airport arrivals. Manages to be quiet and calm despite its proximity to the airport. Dinner at Quills is always good, charming staff. Breakfast is very good quality too. Very nice rooms with everything you could possibly want for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCarreira, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Llewellynroger
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our elegantly appointed rooms that have full amenity offering in the rooms. I truly appreciate you recommending my property and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Sonia Carreira
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

This morning we set a record I can't envisage us ever beating. From leaving our room, to storing a bag at left luggage in the airport, checking in for our flight to Hoedspruit and returning to enjoy a decent breakfast in Quills, was <20 minutes. Best that!

It's super conveniently situated next to OR Tambo. Staff are very friendly and helpful, hotel is modern, spacious, clean and efficient. Dining (reported on separately) was good. The 8th floor pool, though petite, was unique. I have never been able to have a dip and simultaneously watch planes taking off and landing before. Fun, if you're an aviatophile like me. Well worth stopping over here and avoiding a monotonous schlep into and out of Jozi.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Munrosaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCarreira, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Munrosaxman
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our elegantly appointed rooms that have full amenity offering in the rooms. I truly appreciate you recommending my property and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Sonia Carreira
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
1.2 km away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2 315 reviews
0.2 km away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.6 km away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
0.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Address: Opposite Int'l Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: R3 942 - R5 299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing