We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel with great amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Stayed for one night last week as we arrived late in Johannesburg and had an early morning flight out the next day. This hotel was the perfect option for such a situation. Located just steps from the international terminal. A porter will also meet you to help with luggage. Very friendly staff. We were a family of 4 so had interleading (connecting) rooms. One executive room and one standard room. The rooms looked recently refurbished- they were both beautifully decorated. The shower had the best water pressure- even the kids enjoyed an extra long shower! The rooms each had a Nespresso machine with light snacks to accompany it. Nice touch. Pool was also a great amenity. It's an indoor pool on the roof - supposedly heated but it seemed cold to me. Kids loved it. Breakfast was also excellent. Buffet included everything you would want plus a whole lot of extra goodies. Delicious!
When connecting through Johannesburg- look no further. This hotel and the friendly staff do not disappoint.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are refurbished and have plenty of space. Very comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1Lmichele816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sónia C, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear 1Lmichele816
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our elegantly appointed rooms that have full amenity offering in the rooms. I truly appreciate you recommending my property and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Sonia Carreira
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1 378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 1 378 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Can recommend this hotel for anyone transitibg thru Johannesburg overnight. Lovely clean rooms, if a little small. Very comfortable bed, nice food, great service from all tbe staff who make one feel very welcome.
Extremely convenient for tbe airport, and an easy walk with a trolley-friendly walkway.
My second stay here, and for sure my preferred airport hotel.
Well done InterContinental.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sónia C, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Peter L
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our elegantly appointed rooms that have full amenity offering in the rooms. I truly appreciate you recommending my property and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Sonia Carreira
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Ideally located for a stopover. The rooms are lovely and spacious. We had dinner in their restaurant where the food was very good but when it came to the wine list, the lower priced wines that we chose were all out of stock with us being told that they hold a limited supply of all wines. All rather odd for a large hotel within a large hotel group.
Everyone was very friendly around the hotel. When we needed to leave our safe batteries had died and I was very impressed at the speed in which this was sorted.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MV1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sónia C, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear MV1961
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our elegantly appointed rooms that have full amenity offering in the rooms. Thank you for raising the wine availability concern, I have raised this with our Food and Beverage manager as we continuously monitor these items to ensure availability at all times. I truly appreciate you recommending my property and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Sonia Carreira
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

If this hotel was in a central city location it wouldn't be this price. The room is large, but not huge and when you compare the food/drink prices to other places all over South Africa it is pricey... but what you do get is the convenience of grabbing your bags, walking out the airport door and being able to see the entrance to this hotel across the other side of the road. No taxi's, no traffic, no paying for transfers etc, its literally a 40 second walk from the main door of the airport to reception.
If you stay in Johannesburg is short or you need a quick rest between flights this hotel is perfectly located... in our case we landed at 6pm and flew out the next morning first thing so a good bed and rest left us ready to hit the ground running the next day.

The staff were friendly and as mentioned above, the room had everything you'd expect so I couldn't fault anything about the facilities. The meal we had downstairs was also good.
Oh, and I did not hear a single plane take off / land the entire night so anyone worrying about airplane noise need not worry.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveb2170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sónia C, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear steveb2170
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following from your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I could not agree with you more with regards to the convenience of the hotels location being only 68.7 meters away from the International Arrivals hall, which really makes your on route transit stop over hassle free and very convenient after a long haul flight. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the comforts of our newly refurbished room. As an airport hotel we also operate our restaurant and in room dining around the clock and I am happy to read that you enjoyed the service and offering from our in room dining. I trust that when on route back into South Africa we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel
Kind regards
Sonia Carreira
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

This is our fourth stay at Intercontinental OR Tambo Airport Hotel. It has been an excellent stopover for flights from JNB. It is convenient, comfortable, quiet, and very professional. The restaurant has good fare, and is efficient and well-staffed. It is a welcome break from long travel days and feels quite like home between flights.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hbbpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sónia C, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear hbbpc
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our elegantly appointed rooms that have full amenity offering in the rooms. I truly appreciate you recommending my property and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Sonia Carreira
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
1.2 km away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2 318 reviews
0.2 km away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.6 km away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
0.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Address: Opposite Int'l Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: R3 887 - R5 224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing