We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for connections”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed 5 October 2017

The hotel is very close to the airport and the shuttle is 24 hours every half an hour, room sizes are good,there is nothing around but the good thing is that the suttle to airport is at any time and in O.Tambo you have plenty of restaurants and shops.
If you have connection in Joburg I recommed this hotel, the value for money.
The people from reception and drivers are extremely friendly .
Breakfast is really basic but ok .

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fonte63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel upon arrival to South Africa from the states. The airport shuttle worked perfectly. Check in was smooth and the room was great for our stay. We had breakfast at the hotel which was really good. Took the shuttle back to the airport to fly out to Botswana. The Aviator worked out great for our stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CherylWoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Always use this hotel for airport or just cause. We love the atmosphere. And overall brilliance. And returning to staff who remember you and even give you a hug. No that is why we shall always return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Juan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theaviatorORTambo, Public Relations Manager at The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

We're so glad to hear you love staying at the Aviator! We certainly look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the Aviator. Except that we could not switch on the air con as they leaked water all over the floor. The basin in the main bedroom was also blocked. And the swimming pool was very dirty.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tracycM5438VQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

If you need a place near the airport, then this place is fine. No issues with the rooms, theres a shuttle service and if you've got a car theres parking. The food is fine, if unspectacular. Air Force themed

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graeme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
2.1 km away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2 325 reviews
0.9 km away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1 409 reviews
3.5 km away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
3.3 km away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
4.9 km away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo

Address: Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: R686 - R1 247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a free airport shuttle to OR Tambo International Airport (4 km), The Aviator offers stylish rooms with a satellite TV. Hotel facilities include outdoor pool and restaurant with terrace. All air-conditioned rooms at the Life Hotels. The Aviator come with a private bathroom and have a tea/coffee maker. Guests may make use of the safety deposit box at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing