We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Waylandtraveller
Dover, Massachusetts

Perfect remedy for a missed flight

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Jan 2023
We ended up here by happenstance after a missed flight connection to Botswana and could not have felt more lucky. The hotel is charming and cozy and very well appointed - lovely bedding and furnishings and extremely warm and welcoming staff. It is safely tucked into a gated community so one can even go for a jog. They quickly arranged a guide to allow us to make the most of our bonus day in Johannesburg and see the Apartheid Museum - which is a truly memorable, moving and educational experience. Calvin took good care of us and helped to really give us a sense of South Africa in our short time there. Dinner back at the hotel at the Blue Hippo restaurant with Chef Timothy was wonderfully good - excellent food with great service at a lovely table by the pool in front of a roaring fire place. A perfect first dinner on our trip. Breakfast the next morning was very very good, and a ride back to the airport was arranged to put us back on our way. All of us were glad for the unexpected layover and would build in another stop here on our way to the Okavango Delta if we are lucky enough to return this way.
Date of stay: December 2022
Room Tip: Eat at the restaurant! No need to go elsewhere!
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Otti Meijer, Owner at African Rock Hotel and Spa, responded to this review
Responded 09 Jan 2023
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write such a details review!
We are happy you enjoyed your unexpected stay with us and that we could positively contribute to you vacation here in Southern Africa. We wish you many more happy travels!! Best regards Otti & Zelda and the rest of the ARH people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 283
  • Hotels.com
4.7 km from African Rock Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 474
  • Hotels.com
5.7 km from African Rock Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 793
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • InterContinental
    R 5 790
6.8 km from African Rock Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 492
  • Hotels.com
6.1 km from African Rock Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 827
  • Hotels.com
6.0 km from African Rock Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 171
  • Hotels.com
8.1 km from African Rock Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 684
  • Hotels.com
6.8 km from African Rock Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel Exterior
R 1 847
  • Protea Hotels
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
6.1 km from African Rock Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 835
  • Booking.com
9.2 km from African Rock Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 755
  • Priceline
4.2 km from African Rock Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kempton Park
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
364
63
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
364
63
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel gated community one night outdoor fireplace an oasis a wonderful place to stay would highly recommend this hotel south africa small pool apartheid museum between flights next morning minutes from the airport good nights sleep international airport rooms are spacious short stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2022 via mobile

Excellent place to be! The best! Very high quality and levels. Thimothy de Villiers is an extra ordinary good cook! Excellent as well. Owners and staff are also very friendly and highly professional. Feels like home. Fireplace, wines, food, breakfast, everything. Massage the best ever experienced.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lukkied2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Otti Meijer, Owner at African Rock Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure having you both here with us for a few days.
We wish you many more happy travels where ever they take you! Best, Otti Zelda and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2022 via mobile

Very comfortable overnight stay in transit. Setting was quiet and relaxing. I was in room 4 on the first floor next to the shop. The garden was beautiful and in the evening there was a fire in the outdoor fireplace. Had dinner and breakfast on site and the food was delicious.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank jeeprx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Otti Meijer, Owner at African Rock Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2022

Hi there, thank you for writing a nice review, we are happy that you enjoyed your brief stay with us.
Enjoy the rest of your adventure travels in our part of the world. Warm regards, Otti, Zelda and the Team at ARH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2022 via mobile

Very nice boutique hotel in Johannesburg, few rooms make you feeling the only guest, and rooms are filled with all nice details to make them each different. Dining is superb, with internal kitchen and chef, only slightly slow at breakfast during peak hour. Very quiet and safe, continently close to the international airport

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank G381TDmarcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Otti Meijer, Owner at African Rock Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

Thank you for writing a review Marco.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We wish you many more happy travels, best regards, Otti & Zelda and team ARH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2022

We had a very short but wonderful stay at the African Rock Hotel. We needed a place to stay just overnight in between moving from one safari camp to another. This was the perfect place.

The rooms were lovely, and the bathroom was huge. The main area was charming. We ate at the Blue Hippo restaurant in the hotel and the food was fantastic. The chefs really cared that you enjoyed their creations and it showed in the presentation and the taste of the food.

Also, we were picked up and dropped off for our transfers to and from the airport by a wonderful brother team led by Calvin. They were on time and such a pleasure to get to know.

We would highly recommend this hotel if you have a short stay over in Johannesburg. You won’t be disappointed.

Date of stay: August 2022
Thank Jet15416250621
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Otti Meijer, Owner at African Rock Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review, much appreciated!!
Wishing you many more happy travels where ever they take you! Warm regards from the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2022

The staff was nothing less than amazing! The food was great!! Chef Joyce and Chef Caroline did amazing for all meals. Super clean rooms / property. My husband and I will definitely recommend this to our friends!

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Meenababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Otti Meijer, Owner at African Rock Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2022

Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It means a lot to all of us!
We wish you many more happy years and travels together! Best regards Otti & Zelda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews