We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic luxury retreat ”
Review of African Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
African Rock Hotel
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in between safari camps and found this place to be the perfect place to unwind and recharge. The grounds were beautiful, the food was high quality and delicious, all the rooms were extremely comfortable and luxurious, the staff were attentive and helpful, and most importantly it was a queit, relaxing environment. It was exactly what we needed after long and painful travel days.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cw987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Hi there, thank you for your nice comments, I am happy that we could offer you exactly what you needed, that is our goal! I wish you many more happy Travels.... Otti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

This hotel is in a magnificent area of Johannesburg! It is gated, very well taken care of, and the staff is unbelieveable. My boyfriend misplaced our passports and his wallet which was very upsetting to say the least. The hotel staff bent over backwards to assist us in getting what and where we needed to go to get the passports replaced. Fortunately I found the passports and his wallet. I just can't tell you how wonderful and helpful everyone was. The owner even came to the hotel to check on us and offer his help. The food at the hotel is delicious. The Chef comes to your table each evening to go over the menu. Beautiful boutique hotel. The decor is lovely. If you are staying in Johannesburg this is the place.

Room Tip: Ever room was unique and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Deborah.
I am so happy that you found the passports and wallets only a moment before the old ones where cancelled in the system... :).
I am glad we could be of service with support and transfers to and from the US embassy. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time here in Africa while on safari. I wish you many more happy travels! Otti Meijer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

After arriving in Johannesburg from NY, we stayed one night there to rest before our safari camps. Small, wonderful personalized service. Arrived early in the day and were immediately taken to our rooms. Beautifully decorated, lovely room and surroundings. Garden where you eat, with carved statues. Exhausted after the long flight, we both had great massages.Had dinner and breakfast there. Excellent food. Thanks to our terrific travel agent, Rikke Williams, from Go2Africa for putting us in such a lovely, peaceful and quiet place. It is situated in a nice residential area, away from the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank meg714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Meg, thank you for your nice review! I am happy that you enjoyed your brief stay with us and that we could look after you so well. I wish you many more happy travels!! Otti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

A boutique hotel in Johannesburg in a nice and quite area close to the international airport OR Tembo. The hotel is wonderful. Rooms are are privat and very nicely decorated. Food and staff is great. An oasis in Johannesburg where you don't feel that your in a city. Highly recomandable

Room Tip: Just enjoy this oasis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jimmy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend us, much appreciated!
I am glad that you enjoyed your short stay here with us.
I wish you many more happy travels!! Otti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We arrived at the African Rock Hotel after a long and trying drive and we were almost overwhelmed by the warm and friendly welcome. The Hotel is small but exquisite. We felt absolutely secure there. The decoration of our room was inviting and dinner was excellent. The shuttle service to and from the airport was well organized and punctual. We can only recommend the African Rock Hotel for a stopover in Johannesburg.
Thank you for a great experience!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ruegoerlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttiM, Owner at African Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am happy you enjoyed your short stay with us. I wish you many more happy travels in Africa. Otti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempton Park
5.8 km away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2 333 reviews
4.7 km away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1 409 reviews
6.8 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
777 reviews
8.0 km away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
7.7 km away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Rock Hotel

Address: 48 De Villiers Avenue | Van Riebeeck Estates, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: R3 395 - R4 536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Rock Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive 5 star boutique hotel is located 10 km from the Johannesburg International Airport, O.R. Tambo in a quiet suburb of Kempton Park away from the flight path of arriving and departing planes. It has quick and easy high way access to Johannesburg, the Sandton area as well as Pretoria. A well established lush tropical garden, a swimming pool and large patio ensures relaxing outdoor living. The interior "look and feel" boosts a successful fusion of African, Western and Oriental design trends and offers a warm, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. The architecture is contemporary, includes all modern day technologies is practical and comfortable. The hotel offers a complimentary meet and greet and a return airport transfer. The on site restaurant, The Blue Hippo, offers a fusion cuisine. All meals are prepared by a top chef with fresh ingredients and served in a fine dining manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your African Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing