We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supper”
Review of Aroma Restaurant

Aroma Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 1 352 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Aroma Restaurant is an Indian restaurant based in Randburg, close to the Randpark Golf Course, specialising in fresh, made to order Indian cuisine. We focus on authentic, traditional North Indian (and some South Indian) cuisine, prepared traditionally and served in Aroma's unique contemporary style. Our executive chefs, produce the most decadent, aromatic, flavoursome food, with flair, in an open kitchen! Opened by a mother and daughter duo during Women's week in August 2015, we have since been recognized with a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence during 2017 and our now considered one of Johannesburg's favourite Indian restaurants. We have a great passion for what we do and a great love of fine food, with each dish individually prepared, using only the freshest produce from the best suppliers. Our spices are roasted and ground in-house by our executive chefs. Our smooth, delectable paneer (Indian cheese) is also made in-house.
Restaurant details
Description: Aroma Restaurant is an Indian restaurant based in Randburg, close to the Randpark Golf Course, specialising in fresh, made to order Indian cuisine. We focus on authentic, traditional North Indian (and some South Indian) cuisine, prepared traditionally and served in Aroma's unique contemporary style. Our executive chefs, produce the most decadent, aromatic, flavoursome food, with flair, in an open kitchen! Opened by a mother and daughter duo during Women's week in August 2015, we have since been recognized with a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence during 2017 and our now considered one of Johannesburg's favourite Indian restaurants. We have a great passion for what we do and a great love of fine food, with each dish individually prepared, using only the freshest produce from the best suppliers. Our spices are roasted and ground in-house by our executive chefs. Our smooth, delectable paneer (Indian cheese) is also made in-house.
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Was intrigued to visit this place over last 10 months and never had a chance. So finally had time and what a culinary experience! I haven’t had Indian food this good in Randburg yet. Delicious melt in your mouth lamb shank, with an absolute delectable lamb vindaloo and a chicken biryani definitely made my Sunday evening heaven. We had paneer starters which definitely went well with mint sauce accompaniment and the beef kebab starter was a definite hit with the kids. Dishes are freshly prepared and oh what a difference this makes. Thank you for such attention to detail in your preparation, it’s definitely a rarity to have such value for money culinary experience in a world where everything has become fast food orientated. I will be back! Hopefully for Valentine’s Day.

Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaleneMohanlall, General Manager at Aroma Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear Kim,
It was such a pleasure having you and your family at Aroma and we really do hope we see you soon... Hopefully for Valentine's Day to celebrate a double event, Valentine's Day AND Bradley's birthday!!!

Every item from the lamb shank and all the accompaniments to the lamb seekh kebab that the kids enjoyed so much are made from scratch. We believe that is what makes Aroma so unique.

It means the world to us when our patrons take the time to enjoy a long lunch/dinner with the family and appreciate the hard work we put into our dishes and the entire Aroma experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

My mom and I went for lunch to this hidden little gem. Everything from the warm
reception by Kelvin at the entrance of the restaurant to the food and attentive service was perfect. The owner/manager Shalene recommended the Paneer Methi curry which was really tasty. Freshly made paneer and fresh methi made the difference. Naan bread was crisp and light. Aubergine bhajia with paneer - innovative and a different take on bhajias. Chicken tikka was perfectly marinated. We even took a lamb biryiani home for dinner. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank NDEEKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaleneMohanlall, General Manager at Aroma Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Ndeekl,

What a lovely review and thank you for taking the time! It was such a pleasure to have you and your mom at Aroma... I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us and your mom enjoyed the Methi Paneer. It happens to be one of my favourites too!
We pride ourselves on being unique and taking Indian cuisine to a different level... Innovative as you put it so well.
Everything is made from fresh, including your take away Lamb Biryani, which I am so happy you enjoyed.

We hope to see you at Aroma soon!

Warm regards,

Shalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Just a great meal. Service wasnt polished but couldnt have been more pleasant. Food is world class. Every dish was a pleasure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rjy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaleneMohanlall, General Manager at Aroma Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Hi RJY1966,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Reviews help us not only see what we are doing right but also which areas need improvement. I have had a meeting with my front of house staff and we now ensure we do a weekly training session to iron out any flaws.We ensure that our waitrons do get to see these reviews.
As for the food, our chefs are so proud of producing the very best they can and we ensure they too see these reviews.

We hope to see you at Aroma Restaurant very soon!

Best regards,

Shalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We went to this restaurant last night and we were blown away!

The service was excellent and the food was superb.

If you are into Indian style food that is well presented and almost made to order that its so fresh, this is the place to go.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaleneMohanlall, General Manager at Aroma Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

David, thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review. We are thrilled that our true belief and faith in what we do and Aroma's culture carries over to our patrons and is visible in your experience at Aroma.

we look forward to seeing you at Aroma very soon!

Warmest regards,

Shalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Very friendly.
Passion is evident based on the excellent quality of food.
Servings are generous and beautifully presented.

We will be back!

Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaleneMohanlall, General Manager at Aroma Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Christopher,

Thank you so much for the great review! We work tirelessly (and passionately) to ensure that our patrons receive the very best food, presented in our unique Aroma style, we are so glad that it was reflected on your last visit.

We look forward to seeing you at Aroma soon!

Kind regards,

Shalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aroma Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Aroma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing