We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun”
Review of Hashtag Escape

Hashtag Escape
Ranked #1 of 25 Fun & Games in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hashtag Escape is a brand new escape room adventure game based in Johannesburg, South Africa. You and your team of 3-6 friends are locked in a mysterious room... You have 1 hour to work as a team and discover the secrets hidden inside, solve the puzzles and escape the room! It's like a real life adventure video game! All the rooms and puzzles have been hand crafted by a team of South African puzzle masters - a truly unique experience! Do you have what it takes to escape?
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I really enjoyed it, it was challenging but still doable. The hints were well timed and helped the game flow nicely while still giving us time to work it out ourselves, but avoiding getting too frustrated.
We did the closure room and enjoyed it so much we went back to do hackout the next week :) Would recommend for anyone who enjoys finding clues and solving puzzles. The staff were also very friendly and professional and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank kimwienand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hashtag_Escape, Owner at Hashtag Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thanks so much for the great review! We hope to see you again to try out our Rebel Room Adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

Recently had my first experience at doing an Escape challenge and it was great fun!
We were 6 ladies in our team and each member contributed in their own way. The attention to detail on the room's decor, as well as thought put into each challenge was great. It really challenged me and the suspense was awesome ;-) We completed the "Closure" challenge in 50 minutes, with only 3 clues. And now I'm super excited to do the next one!

Thank jenna911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
82eightytwo, Owner at Hashtag Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thanks for the awesome review! Glad you enjoyed it. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Had lots of fun with friends we've been twice and beat 1 out of the two rooms of which both were super fun

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank mattgerber610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
82eightytwo, Owner at Hashtag Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thanks for coming Matt! Thrilled that you have tried 2 of our 3 rooms.
Thanks for taking the time to review us- we really appreciate it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Very happy, had a great time. Been twice now And can highly recommend. Pricing is reasonable and staff friendly and efficient.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank pmswanepoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
82eightytwo, Owner at Hashtag Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi! Great to know you've done 2 of our 3 rooms (4th on the way)
Thanks for the positive review! See you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

A family of italians invaded your escape rooms and conquered the quests. Such an awesome experience. Will definitely be back!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank stef_italia31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
82eightytwo, Owner at Hashtag Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Awesome! We love Italians and everyone else too :)
Looking forward to hosting you again. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hashtag Escape also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Hashtag Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing