We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$49
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/13
Agoda.com
US$49
US$47
View Deal
SAVE US$2
Free cancellation until 21/03/12
Booking.com
US$48
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/12
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUS$48
TravelocityUS$49
Trip.comUS$49
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
102
98
29
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
102
98
29
15
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2019 via mobile

The reception staff was so welcoming. The hotel is in the city but the location is so quite. Value for money I couldn't beleive the price I was given what a wooow. The rooms are so big with self catering arrangements. My secret sport anytime from now.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank zaphnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2019

Dear Zaphnath
Thank you for giving us a perfect score and we glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully your next visit is just around the corner.

Kind regards

Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2019 via mobile

Great location, walking distance to the city and night life. Spacious well furnished kitchen . Clean linen. Friendly staff. Good variety of food on the buffet breakfast. Really comfortable place. I would recommend it.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KiwinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2019

Dear KiwinCT
Thank you for giving us a perfect score and taking time to do this review. We hope next time you are in town you will visit us again and like we say at Faircity, till the next time.
Kind regards
Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2019 via mobile

Enjoy staying at the Mapungubwe, like gome away from home. Love the staff, so friendly, from reception to restaurant to the drivers. Rooms are spacious and have a lovely city vibe about them. And the food in Marshall's Restaurant is really great.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Wilbur v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2019

Dear Flyer827771

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to do so. Really happy that you did enjoyed the inner city VIBE... a lot of people think it is dangerous but it is really awesome and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights.. the hotel location is fairly good.. there is a shuttle with a good service. The some rooms are fairly good and other not.. the air-conditioning doesn’t work in some of the rooms and although I complained all they did was send an engineer who couldn’t do anything. The staff are very friendly and the food is amazing.. the area though as we were constantly reminded is unsafe and our stay in Johannesburg nerve raking.. The swimming pool is very tiny makes for a joke..

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2018

Dear Steve M
Thank you for your feedback and comments. Surely you did have a look at the area of the hotel before you made your reservation? I don't understand how one minute you say the area is fairly good and then again "our stay in Johannesburg nerve raking" With regards to the pool it is as you will find the photo's on line so again not sure what you referring too saying "makes for a joke" With regards to the aircons I do apologize if the maintenance team couldn't sort it but we will get in our service supplier to look at the problem.
Kind regards
Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018

I was located in a Room not easily accessible and had to go up and down before I could find the Stairs Leading to the Room.
The Door leading to the Outside could not close from the inside, meaning one had to go outside to forcibly push it to close and lock, then go around to the other door on the inside to close and lock.
There was no drinking water provided in the Room/Fridge for arrival.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank khwezizitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Dear Khwezizitha

Thank you for your review and feedback. if i may ask did you report any of the door problems because we do have a maintenance team that would have gladly assisted you in solving the problem. All fridges does have water in it and if your room didn't have i do apologize for this because this isn't our standard. I hope next time you in town you will visit us again.
Kind regards
Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews