We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$321
US$283
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$325/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$273
US$258
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$172
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$223
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Thaba Eco Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$113
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Curiocity Backpackers(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$27
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$446
US$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valverde Country Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
6
13
8
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
13
8
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslal qilathe hotel offersjacuzzigymbrandingtvfacilitiesreceptionist
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Me personally being from a career in hospitality and working for a world class cruise line, I am disappointed with the service for a four star establishment , staff professionalism and the steps to how a guest issue/complaint is handled.

The air conditioning unit does not function correctly. I have not slept the past night due to room only being heated by air conditioning unit. Maintenance had checked and insured the unit will after some time give off cold air. Ten hours later I have not seen any results. Front Desk can be of no assistance due to no maintenance staff on duty currently or anyone else to assist.



Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Bilal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Don't be fooled. This place is not 4star as it claims to be. I stayed there for one night and it was pathetic. It was freezing that day and the heater was not working. Secondly, the tv channels clearly cater for bollywood fans, not even any music/radio channels! The rooms definielty need an upgrade as our bathroom door looked dilapidated. The worst part was the shower, your bathroom literally gets flooded while you shower!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Prinelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Thought it was a good idea since it was a Halaal establishment.whilst the room is spacious it's in need of maintenance.the cupboard door was broken and one door was missing,the shelf was broken,never got the safe working,the basin is so high it's impossible to make ablution,the diverter in the shower was broken.The bathroom had a terrible smoke smell.
I booked a room with a sleeper couch for my 15 year old daughter,when I called to confirm my booking the manager Altaf said that the room did not have a sleeper couch but had tub chairs,when we sent him the screenshot from the website he said it was a 'misrepresentation' and that my daughter should sleep on the bed with us.When I checked in the room did in fact have a sleeper couch.
I asked housekeeping to bring extra towels and bedding which never came.I had to collect from reception.I was given only one key card for the 3 of us,when I asked for another I was told there would be a R50 deposit.housekeeping was very slow as on my second day at 14:30 the room was still not made up.
On the plus side the hotel did offer complimentary water.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Badat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

I have been a client at this hotel from the time it opened and congrats to the team for keeping up the standards.
The hotel offers rates inclusive or excluding breakfast so choice is yours depending on your budget.
The hotel does not offer free drinking water in the rooms so please buy before you come to the rooms at night.
The rooms have a safety box for all your valuables so no need to stress on safety.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Shahid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Never again. Definitely not a place to holiday. On the outside it looks like a modern hotel but the infrastructure is seriously lacking. Things falling apart, door locks not locking, power going out, minimal TV channels with no explanation how to work it, phone is across the room from the desk if you are trying to work, combination of mildew and smoke smell in the rooms.

The staff was split between helpful and really not giving a crap about your needs. Not to mention it is in a terrible area where you are told not to walk outside the compound. On one occasion one of my travel mates on way to restaurant inside the complex was bumped into by an unapologetic security person carrying an assault rifle. The host who was apologetic said that he was there for a private meeting. What???!!! The whole place just feels dodgy and even with the giant wall and security we never felt safe.

After this glowing review if you do decide to stay here you will need a car or be prepared to spend $ on uber or private driver as there is nothing nearby.


Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank keshme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews