We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unspectacular Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed 9 August 2017

In one line this hotel is right if you want to dump your bags and head off for the day.
Its quite harsh to judge right now, as there are some renovations being done, but here goes.

Being of 4 start grading, one would expect a bit more panache in how this establishment is run, however I don't feel that way. I'll start with the good points.
the rooms are very comfortable, and the bathrooms very neat and clean.
The breakfast is not world class, but from an indian culinary point of view
, its stunning. You can eat to your hearts content and be satisfied for most of the day.

The pool area, jacuzzi and gym are also well looked after and almost secluded for the most part - however there are always staff looking after you.

Now for the downside. The staff at the front desk are always able to accommodate you (I had an issue with my credit Card, they waited till Monday and allowed me to stay until i sorted it out), however the cleaning staff is most unwelcome. They will snicker at you at every request, especially if you are not ready for your room to be cleaned. The aircon in the room did not work at all and on request, they told us it should clear up in 10 minutes, but did not.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank umvahed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Me personally being from a career in hospitality and working for a world class cruise line, I am disappointed with the service for a four star establishment , staff professionalism and the steps to how a guest issue/complaint is handled.

The air conditioning unit does not function correctly. I have not slept the past night due to room only being heated by air conditioning unit. Maintenance had checked and insured the unit will after some time give off cold air. Ten hours later I have not seen any results. Front Desk can be of no assistance due to no maintenance staff on duty currently or anyone else to assist.



Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Bilal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Don't be fooled. This place is not 4star as it claims to be. I stayed there for one night and it was pathetic. It was freezing that day and the heater was not working. Secondly, the tv channels clearly cater for bollywood fans, not even any music/radio channels! The rooms definielty need an upgrade as our bathroom door looked dilapidated. The worst part was the shower, your bathroom literally gets flooded while you shower!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Prinelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Thought it was a good idea since it was a Halaal establishment.whilst the room is spacious it's in need of maintenance.the cupboard door was broken and one door was missing,the shelf was broken,never got the safe working,the basin is so high it's impossible to make ablution,the diverter in the shower was broken.The bathroom had a terrible smoke smell.
I booked a room with a sleeper couch for my 15 year old daughter,when I called to confirm my booking the manager Altaf said that the room did not have a sleeper couch but had tub chairs,when we sent him the screenshot from the website he said it was a 'misrepresentation' and that my daughter should sleep on the bed with us.When I checked in the room did in fact have a sleeper couch.
I asked housekeeping to bring extra towels and bedding which never came.I had to collect from reception.I was given only one key card for the 3 of us,when I asked for another I was told there would be a R50 deposit.housekeeping was very slow as on my second day at 14:30 the room was still not made up.
On the plus side the hotel did offer complimentary water.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Badat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

I have been a client at this hotel from the time it opened and congrats to the team for keeping up the standards.
The hotel offers rates inclusive or excluding breakfast so choice is yours depending on your budget.
The hotel does not offer free drinking water in the rooms so please buy before you come to the rooms at night.
The rooms have a safety box for all your valuables so no need to stress on safety.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Shahid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.1 km away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 66 in Johannesburg
436 reviews
2.6 km away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
11.2 km away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#29 of 66 in Johannesburg
174 reviews
3.0 km away
Garden Court Milpark
Garden Court Milpark
#14 of 66 in Johannesburg
381 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel QSL on 44
Hotel QSL on 44
#31 of 66 in Johannesburg
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg

Address: 9 Church Street, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: R807 - R1 377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palm Continental - Crown Mines Johannesburg. A contemporary interior design of fusing rich culture, colours and textures of East meets West, sets the mood of the newly opened Palm Continental. This hotel is ideally situated on main reef, Johannesburg. Within close proximity to Gold Reef City and the popular FNB stadium. The hotel boasts a Jacuzzi, sauna, a hi-tech gym and a heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing