We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing restaurant and great sushi one of the best in the country”
Review of The Big Mouth

The Big Mouth
Ranked #12 of 1 491 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Description: The Big Mouth is a contemporary take on the classic diner infused with culinary influences and ingredients from around the globe.
Restaurant details
Description: The Big Mouth is a contemporary take on the classic diner infused with culinary influences and ingredients from around the globe.
Reviewed 16 February 2020

Did not expect much but wow! My wife and I had had a harrowing morning but big mouth and the food changed that we walked out different people with a doggy bag!

Totally packed outside so sat inside simple decor, marvelous lights and comfortable.

We had the new style salmon sashimi, deluxe salmon roses, crispy rice salmon, salmon skin futomaki and rock shrimp tempura roll. And some sake.

You have to try it! Prisca the waitress was marvelous.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

Stopped here because of the diverse menu. My server recommended the lobster roll and I was not disappointed. Great place and service.

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank Kayl_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020

another place that looks more like a posh fast food place rather than a restaurant.
However the menu was different to other outlets in the square and the food and service were good.
well worth a visit

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2020 via mobile

There are ten restaurants in Nelson Mandela Square and judging by the huge menu and how crowded it was you might think it is a fast food joint. It is not. They serve excellent food and wine quite quickly and efficiently with a smile and at a very reasonable price. We were only in the adjacent hotel for one night and were delighted to have had dinner at Big Mouth.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2020

We took one of our consultants from the UK out for dinner. What an experience! The service was excellent and the food even better. For a place with such immense variety on their menu, every plate was done to perfection. The sushi is super fresh and the steaks awesome. The tables could have been a bit bigger, we were six people at one of the booths and it was slightly tight.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hendelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Big Mouth also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Big Mouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.