We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great place!!!”
Review of moyo Zoo Lake

moyo Zoo Lake
Ranked #36 of 1 462 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$34
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: moyo Zoo Lake is a tranquil retreat from the urban hustle and bustle of Joburg. By day moyo offers a relaxed, family-friendly atmosphere; as the African sun sets, cocktails on the deck and fabulous live music set the tone for an extraordinary evening of fine-dining and soulful vibes. moyo Magic gives new meaning to birthday parties and workshops.
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We went to Moyo a few times because it was so great. The food is delicious and the entertainment was so fun!

2  Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovemoyo, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you for the 5 star review, The moyo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2018

The Protea Marriott Hotel front desk person recommended this restaurant. We drove there and were blown away upon entering. The decor was really unique and the service impeccable. I mean who brings rose water to wash your hands and dresses in traditional African dress. Our server was from Zimbabwe and was absolutely wonderful. His demeanor was quiet and gentle. Since it was not busy we had the opportunity to talk with him at length about his country and his life in South Africa. He recommended the filet which was cooked to perfection. The entire experience was unique and wonderful. Would definitely recommend moyo Zoo Lake restaurant and go back on a future visit. Our server made the evening even more special for us. We were there at night and did not see the lake views which I imagine were beautiful too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank aekrfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank-you for the lovey review! Our team appreciate your detailed feedback and hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, The moyo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Loved every bit of the restaurant .
African theme that makes you feel very special.

Can be used for business or romantic couple meals.

2  Thank Haseena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank-you for the lovely review, our friendly team hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, The moyo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

We went with my 8 colleague for dinner on mother's day, the service was excellent but the place is cold and the oxtail was burnt but it was replaced immediately . We booked for 4 hours but we only stayed for 2 hours. They had the fireplace on but that did not help..overall it is a nice place we will definitely visit again in summer time

1  Thank mmooki79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank-you for the valuable feedback, we look forward to seeing you again in the summer! Warm regards, The moyo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Great location right by a lake. The restaurant has a large external space and when we visited on a Sunday afternoon, they had a live band. There was a good range of food on offer for their buffet, on let down by the bees hovering around the desserts. This really needs to be addressed. A lot of friendly staff mulling around so service was good when we required it. Would recommend this restaurant

1  Thank Dapsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank-you for recommending moyo Zoo Lake! Our team appreciate your positive feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
The moyo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed moyo Zoo Lake also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Boksburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to moyo Zoo Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing