We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't forget the cake!”
Review of The Fat Zebra

The Fat Zebra
Ranked #24 of 1 289 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Delicious fresh food prepared using the finest ingredients in a vibey warm and inviting atmosphere. 90% of our dishes are prepared in our wood burning pizza oven offering a unique delicious taste sensation. Serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner!!
Restaurant details
Description: Delicious fresh food prepared using the finest ingredients in a vibey warm and inviting atmosphere. 90% of our dishes are prepared in our wood burning pizza oven offering a unique delicious taste sensation. Serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner!!
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Apart from great food and realy good coffee, the Fat Zebra's selection of cake is worth several visits

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SecundaSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, Owner at The Fat Zebra, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Hey Secunda Sam

So chuffed you love our food coffee and cake.... c'mon hurry back!!

See ya soon

Warm regards
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2016

The Fat Zebra is an intimate little cafe that delivers great food with highly personalized service. You can see that the chef really puts himself into the menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelOften1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, Owner at The Fat Zebra, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hey there Traveloften 1968

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your comments are much appreciated. Our chef is very special and certainly goes the extra mile as do all our staff.

Look forward to your return for another equally great meal.

Warm regards
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We have been threatening to head to Linden for a bite to eat and the Fat Zebra did not disappoint us. Home made prego peri peri sauce and super thin crispy based pizzas were superb. The owner greets you as you enter and makes you feel so welcome. Cannot wait to visit again. Only comment for improvement is that the wine menu is limited and could do with a little face lift, but is still decent enough to go back.

Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, Owner at The Fat Zebra, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hiya Fiona

So glad you at long last came to join us. Always love hearing the positive and our peri peri sauce is very delicious!!

We have a small selection of wines due to space constraints, however the wines we stock were carefully chosen to compliment our food offerings, Saying that, we are always open to suggestions of new delicious wines. Please let us know what some of your favourite wines are and why they are special.

Looking forward to your return.

Warm regards
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Makes for a great Friday evening venue but best you book ahead as this small cozy place is busy. The food is flavoursome amd desert is great. Friendly staff complete the package

Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, Owner at The Fat Zebra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Hiya Sean

So glad you got to experience TFZ and found our food both flavoursome and great. We only open for dinners on Thursday through to Sat eve and they can get very busy.We look forward to your return and appreciate your review.

Warm regards
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

I've had 3 restaurant breakfasts in the past week and this was definitely the tastiest. The roast baby tomatoes were wonderfully herbed, nice crispy bacon, cappacinos and poached eggs. I was envious of the fruit laden flapjacks served at the next door table. The owner was carrying a little baby on his hip; a patrons child who he didn't know but he wanted the patron to enjoy his breakfast. My son made a big mess on the table and this was no issue at all. My only complaint was that the service was slow.

1  Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, Owner at The Fat Zebra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Hi Glen K

Thank you so much for your superb review. We always try our best to ensure the best quality food is prepared to be enjoyed and savored by all clients. Bit disappointed about the slow service and am wondering if you cam around on a Sat morning. Sat mornings are our busiest time and occasionally service does slow down.

We look forward to your return and until then wish you all the best.

Warm regards
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fat Zebra also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Fat Zebra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing