We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
53
35
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
35
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews separate rooms bars and restaurants apartheid museum stayed here for nights self catering enjoyed our stay melville microwave ac soweto cbd security
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Nice, cozy, and clean guesthouse. we were there twice in a month. We experienced two different rooms: first, a "compact" one, which was very comfortable, and then a larger one, which was great! Both open onto the tidy and pleasant garden, where you can also sit or lie down. We were very well attended by the crew and especially by Emily who helped us with all our needs: transfers, taxis, reservations, etc. Matthew was a great guide, very friendly, and attentive: he guided us to astonishing sites like Cradle of humankind, Apartheid Museum, Soweto, Museum Africa, and also to some good shops. The gueshouse is located in the very nice 7th street of Melville, with many pubs and restos. It is safe, but be very careful with the ATMs: pay attention!!!!
Enjoy also the tasty breakfast at Café de la Crème.
We strongly recommend Saffron -look forward to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Giorgio_ft_Ale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Very comfortable and semi private room.
Friendly staff. Very good breakfast with a good selection in the bakery just in the corner
Easy to find, it's locate close to the city, but in very quiet place.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarceloQuinalha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We had a short but enjoyable stay here and can really recommend it. The location is very safe and you can truly feel at ease, knowing great cafes, bars and restaurants are literally over the road or within a few mins walk of your bedroom, all on one street. There is plenty going on in the main road and the breakfast at a nearby cafe (over the road) was great too. We hope you enjoy it! We also had a great half-day trip to Joburg and Soweto, including the Apartheid Museum, which can be organised by the Guest House (the guide was Matthew, who grew up there and was an excellent guide and who you should ask for).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpwainwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This is a gorgeous little place; very funky and stylish. Really easy to find in Melville and the breakfast across the road was top knotch. Villa was enormous and very clean and new...way bigger than my place at home! :) Really enjoyed our stay; will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LucasNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilFa, Owner at Saffron Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Thank you very much and we look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I took our first trip to Africa this March. We wanted to spend some time in Johannesburg before setting out on safari, and chose Saffron Guesthouse based on the neighborhood and the good reviews on various websites. We were extremely pleased with our choice. The rooms are small suites, tastefully decorated and arranged around a private courtyard. Everything was very clean and quite - just what we needed after nearly a full day of travel from the U.S. The manager, Emily, was very friendly and helpful. She also arranged a private tour of Soweto and Johannesburg with the hotel's driver, Matthew. Matthew is awesome- he provided us with a wealth of information on South African history and the current issues facing the country. He took us around the central business district of Johannesburg, the Apartheid Museum, and Soweto. We learned a great deal and really enjoyed his company throughout the course of the day. The surrounding area of Melville is very nice as well, and can easily be explored on foot. There are numerous dining and shopping options within a short walk of the hotel.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilFa, Owner at Saffron Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Thank you for all your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews