We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
R 847
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Tk_kgotho970321

Review

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Mar 2020
I liked how it is close to the Mall, nearest mall is 10 munites away, game reserve nearby

Most importantly close to the Airport.

Aircon💆‍♂️💆‍♀️, Pool, Restaurant.. Shout out to Anathi one of the stuff members
Date of stay: March 2020
Room Tip: Microwave and Iron!!!!!
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 02 Apr 2020
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Marvellous Chikukwa
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 5 598
R 5 012
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 012
26.9 km from Shumba Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 3 143
R 3 066
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
24.1 km from Shumba Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 275
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
21.9 km from Shumba Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 843
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
23.7 km from Shumba Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 2 076
R 1 983
  • Booking.com
  • Hyatt.com
  • Hotels.com
30.1 km from Shumba Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 519
  • eDreams
25.5 km from Shumba Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 1 692
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 717
25.1 km from Shumba Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    R 2 700
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 600
27.9 km from Shumba Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 628
  • Algotels
24.2 km from Shumba Valley Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    R 421
  • Hotels.com
29.8 km from Shumba Valley Lodge
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
41
33
42
28
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
41
33
42
28
23
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2020

The best place to be, quite decent, quite and exclusive. Take your time and visit them, very closer to Lanseria Airport and Restaurants. I always find this place relaxing and every-time i want to get out of the busy town, i always make booking with them especially for Room 159 which is my favorite.

Room tip: Replace the Umbrella on the Deck and Fix the Deck. Safety Hazards
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 638emmanueln
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2020

Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Marvellous Chikukwa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2020

I was overcharged almost double when prepayment was processed. That was however resolved effectively before I could check in. Overall the place is nice including location. The dinner menu very limited but the food tasted nice.

Room tip: Aircon and tv remote controls were filthy and sticky. Very disgusting. We had to wipe and sanitize it.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tmashi791423
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear your wonderful remarks about your experience with our hotel. We value your feedback and have shared your comments with our staff so we can continue to improve our services. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Marvellous Chikukwa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2020

Please have the staff check the room with you before entering the room...my room's electricity DB Board was off and could have off for over 5 hours. So, no warm water at 20h00 at night.
And the lodge wasnt equipped on how to make my stay better.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank edebeer2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,

Marvellous Chikukwa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

When my team choose Shumba Valley Lodge, I reviewed through the reservation agency read it is a 4 Star lodge hence expectation. Over all the place has greater potential if they heed advise on intense maintenance, gardening and having an eye for finer details.

Room tip: Steam clean: floors, shower walls,windows and Mirrors Buy new Kettles uniform the cups
Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear your remarks about your experience with our hotel. We value your feedback and have shared your comments with our staff so we can continue to improve our services. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Marvellous Chikukwa

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2020

My booking was initialy for 2 nights, but I requested to check out early because the TV, Wi-Fi was not working and the is no phones in the rooms to call reception, bedding with rust stains, Manager did not want to refund me

Room tip: Manager not coming to talk to me but giving orders to receptionist, Anathi very friendly
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank busi978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

Dear Busi,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Marvellous Chikukwa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews