We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Karim M
London, United Kingdom

Great boutique hotel

Review of The Peech Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 03 Oct 2023via mobile
The hotel is modern and beautifully decorated. The room are spacious and really modern. They all have a view on the main garden. We loved the staff above everything and the food including the breakfast was high quality. We stayed in two different rooms and loved both of them. The location is really good if you want to visit JHB
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabrielle Marnewick, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 05 Oct 2023
HI there,
Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback! We loved having you stay at The Peech Hotel and the team were really pleased that they made such a positive impression. They are our true gems delivery yet another great Peech Hotel stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 956
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 918
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 736
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 917
3.1 km from The Peech Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 584
R 2 560
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 201
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 200
  • Trip.com
    R 3 187
3.7 km from The Peech Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 746
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 758
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 676
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 758
2.3 km from The Peech Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 240
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 053
  • Vio.com
    R 1 866
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 054
7.6 km from The Peech Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 614
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    R 1 682
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 465
  • Priceline
    R 1 614
7.7 km from The Peech Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 230
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 230
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 131
  • StayForLong
    R 1 185
6.5 km from The Peech Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 058
R 878
Fully refundable
  • Algotels
    R 1 049
  • Priceline
    R 878
  • Vio.com
    R 876
7.1 km from The Peech Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 2 873
  • Vio.com
    R 2 873
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 873
  • eDreams
    R 2 873
18.3 km from The Peech Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 046
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
    R 1 023
  • Agoda.com
    R 816
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 046
27.2 km from The Peech Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 358
  • Priceline
    R 420
  • Agoda.com
    R 229
  • Trip.com
    R 378
7.2 km from The Peech Hotel
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (1 003)
Filter reviews
1 003 results
Traveller rating
791
177
24
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
791
177
24
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel melrose arch one night an oasis our honeymoon large bathroom wonderful hotel stayed nights residential area stayed longer apartheid museum jo burg attention to detail home away from home peach garden basalt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1 003 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2023

This was a lovely hotel which we used as a stopover before flying back to London. Himself wasn't feeling so good, so the reservation at Basalt had to be cancelled and I had to settle for dining in room. It was excellent.

The room was a tranquil oasis where my husband rested for almost 24 hours (thanks for the late checkout!) and he felt so much better after a night there, although the Springboks lost and it almost set him back.

We did enjoy breakfast in the courtyard garden, the staff are all wonderful. They did their best to accommodate us and we really appreciate it.

Hopefully we can book in again sometime and stay for longer.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabrielle Marnewick, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2023

Dear Lorraine,
Thanks so much for a very kind review and amazing feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed all the services and facilities The Peech features but keep your bags packed as we hope to see you back again very soon. We will keep your booking in Basalt Restaurant for the 6 course tasting menu on ice!
Regards
Gabrielle & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2023

My recent stay at The Peech Boutique Hotel in Johannesburg was a harmonious blend of contemporary elegance and eco-friendly luxury. The hotel’s location in the leafy suburb of Melrose offered a tranquil escape from the city’s hustle and bustle while being conveniently close to key attractions. My room was a haven of modern design, with stylish furnishings and eco-conscious amenities. The lush garden setting and serene pool area provided a peaceful retreat after a day of exploration. Dining at the hotel’s bistro, Basalt, was a culinary journey, with a menu that celebrated locally sourced ingredients and international flavors. The Peech Boutique Hotel exceeded all my expectations, and I eagerly anticipate my next visit to this eco-friendly gem in Johannesburg.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank F1117PZrobh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabrielle Marnewick, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2023

HI there,

You couldn't have said it better! We are thrilled that you loved all things "Peech" and we are so appreciative that you mention all the eco-friendly aspects which you so enjoyed during your stay. Amongst all facets of the hotel, we strive to support local business and furthermore always aim for a zero-waste outcome in all aspects of our environment. Being a certified fairtrade property speaks volumes to our ethos and service culture. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another incredible stay at The Peech.
Regards
Gabrielle & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2023 via mobile

We stayed one night as a stopover between the UK & Botswana and what a good choice it was. An excellent spacious room with all the amenities you require.
The evening meal at the Basalt restaurant (in the hotel grounds) was superb. A really nice touch that the chef (James Diack) explained the restaurant’s sustainability philosophy and details of the food/ingredients they use.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stay13500424256
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabrielle Marnewick, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2023

HI there

Thanks so much for your amazing feedback and for choosing to stay at The Peech Boutique Hotel. Chef James Diack our chef in residence really does put on a great display in Basalt with his 6 course tasting menu featuring his 'farm to fork' concept. We hope to have you back very soon!
Gabrielle & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2023

The Peech is an elegant modern boutique hotel in a quiet and safe part of Johannesburg. Built from a former private residence, it is quietly, modernly, understatedly luxurious, with beautifully maintained gardens and a resort like feel. The food at the attached restaurant is excellent, especially the morning coffee which is among the best I have ever had. We would absolutely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabrielle Marnewick, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2023

HI CC
What a wonderful review, thank you for sharing your great feedback from your recent stay in Johannesburg. The Peech Hotel is certainly a tranquil and serene place to stay. We loved your comments about the amazing coffee (which is all composted!) and cuisine. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again!
Gabrielle & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2023 via mobile

The Peech Hotel is a jewel in Johannesburg. The rooms are spacious and clean - well appointed. The staff are welcoming, friendly and attentive.
Unfortunately our stay was short so we were unable to enjoy the beautiful property. We enjoyed the view from our room.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 505karic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabrielle Marnewick, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2023

HI there
The perfect stay at The Peech Hotel! Thanks so much for taking time to review your recent trip, we so appreciate your very kind comments. We only hope that you have the opportunity to visit our city again in the future (for a little longer next time).
Regards
Gabrielle and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews