We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rob H
Chicago, Illinois

Lovely hotel

Review of The Peech Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Sept 2023
My recent stay at The Peech Boutique Hotel in Johannesburg was a harmonious blend of contemporary elegance and eco-friendly luxury. The hotel’s location in the leafy suburb of Melrose offered a tranquil escape from the city’s hustle and bustle while being conveniently close to key attractions. My room was a haven of modern design, with stylish furnishings and eco-conscious amenities. The lush garden setting and serene pool area provided a peaceful retreat after a day of exploration. Dining at the hotel’s bistro, Basalt, was a culinary journey, with a menu that celebrated locally sourced ingredients and international flavors. The Peech Boutique Hotel exceeded all my expectations, and I eagerly anticipate my next visit to this eco-friendly gem in Johannesburg.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabrielle Marnewick, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 05 Oct 2023
HI there,

You couldn't have said it better! We are thrilled that you loved all things "Peech" and we are so appreciative that you mention all the eco-friendly aspects which you so enjoyed during your stay. Amongst all facets of the hotel, we strive to support local business and furthermore always aim for a zero-waste outcome in all aspects of our environment. Being a certified fairtrade property speaks volumes to our ethos and service culture. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another incredible stay at The Peech.
Regards
Gabrielle & Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 914
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 917
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 137
  • Booking.com
    R 5 200
3.1 km from The Peech Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 600
R 2 560
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 198
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 200
  • Priceline
3.7 km from The Peech Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 450
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 223
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 224
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 223
2.3 km from The Peech Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 917
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 767
  • Hyatt.com
    R 2 030
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 768
7.7 km from The Peech Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 395
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 394
  • StayForLong
    R 1 316
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 395
6.5 km from The Peech Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 054
R 878
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 878
  • Vio.com
7.1 km from The Peech Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 2 873
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
18.3 km from The Peech Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
SUN1 BEREA EXTERIOR
R 499
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 499
  • Vio.com
5.2 km from The Peech Hotel
Free parking
R 1 045
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 829
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 046
27.2 km from The Peech Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 012
  • Trip.com
7.6 km from The Peech Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (1 003)
Filter reviews
1 003 results
Traveller rating
791
177
24
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
791
177
24
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel melrose arch one night an oasis our honeymoon large bathroom wonderful hotel stayed nights residential area stayed longer apartheid museum jo burg attention to detail home away from home peach garden basalt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 1 003 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2023 via mobile

We stayed one night as a stopover between the UK & Botswana and what a good choice it was. An excellent spacious room with all the amenities you require.
The evening meal at the Basalt restaurant (in the hotel grounds) was superb. A really nice touch that the chef (James Diack) explained the restaurant’s sustainability philosophy and details of the food/ingredients they use.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stay13500424256
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabrielle Marnewick, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2023

HI there

Thanks so much for your amazing feedback and for choosing to stay at The Peech Boutique Hotel. Chef James Diack our chef in residence really does put on a great display in Basalt with his 6 course tasting menu featuring his 'farm to fork' concept. We hope to have you back very soon!
Gabrielle & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2023

The Peech is an elegant modern boutique hotel in a quiet and safe part of Johannesburg. Built from a former private residence, it is quietly, modernly, understatedly luxurious, with beautifully maintained gardens and a resort like feel. The food at the attached restaurant is excellent, especially the morning coffee which is among the best I have ever had. We would absolutely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabrielle Marnewick, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2023

HI CC
What a wonderful review, thank you for sharing your great feedback from your recent stay in Johannesburg. The Peech Hotel is certainly a tranquil and serene place to stay. We loved your comments about the amazing coffee (which is all composted!) and cuisine. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again!
Gabrielle & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2023 via mobile

The Peech Hotel is a jewel in Johannesburg. The rooms are spacious and clean - well appointed. The staff are welcoming, friendly and attentive.
Unfortunately our stay was short so we were unable to enjoy the beautiful property. We enjoyed the view from our room.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 505karic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabrielle Marnewick, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2023

HI there
The perfect stay at The Peech Hotel! Thanks so much for taking time to review your recent trip, we so appreciate your very kind comments. We only hope that you have the opportunity to visit our city again in the future (for a little longer next time).
Regards
Gabrielle and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2023

Peech Hotel was very comfortable, staff was very helpful and supportive, manager was great, food was excellent, and it was in a great location. The staff knew our names and remembered our preferences. They made our stay comfortable and easy.

Date of stay: August 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabrielle Marnewick, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2023

HI Carol,
Wow! Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent trip to Johannesburg. What more can anyone ask for, perfect location, professional and attentive staff and management comfortable accommodation and delicious food. all the more reason for you to start planning your next trip back to South Africa! See you soon!
Gabrielle & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2023

WE WERE VERY FORTUNATE TO BE SPOILT FOR OUR ANNIVERSARY AND RECEIVED A ONE NIGHT STAY AT THE PEECH. ITS A HIDDEN JEWEL LOCATION, WITH UNBELIEVABLY FRIENDLY STAFF AND BEAUTIFUL DECOR.
DINNER AT BASALT WITH CHEF JAMES AND HIS BRILLIANT STAFF WAS AN ADDED BONUS !

Room tip: Choose a boutique hotel like the Peech over any of the more commercial brand hotels
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank teresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabrielle Marnewick, General Manager at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2023

HI Teresa
Thank you very much for the wonderful review of your stay at The Peech Hotel as well as your special dining experience at Basalt. This was the perfect night out and gift for your Anniversary! Come back soon!
Gabrielle & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews