We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
401
23
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
401
23
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews earth room home away from home attention to detail guest house private patio delicious breakfast the main house beautiful garden guesthouse rusks feeders comfort rosebank tranquility
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2021

Finally another trip to Johannesburg after all the lockdowns... and so nice to be back in my favourite spot. As always, my stay was so comfortable... spacious , clean, well-appointed room, private courtyard and tranquil garden setting... all well-maintained by Liz and her friendly, efficient team. A home away from home atmosphere...even down to the delicious home-baked rusks in the room!! Central location and secure parking make this a perfect stopover for travellers. Highly recommended...well done to Liz and her team for maintaining their high standard!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wendyb176
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz at Lancaster Guest House, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

Thank you Wendyb176 for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your latest stay here. It is is always good to see you and host you again. And just so pleased that things finally opened up so that you could travel safely. Although we obviously observe strict Covid protocols and social distancing, it is often stressful to travel away from home in these times.
Take care and we hope it's not too long before we see you again back at Liz at Lancaster.
From the team: Liz, Mr. T, Catherine and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2020

I stay at guest houses all over the world and at my previous residence was an Air B&B superhost. So when I arrived at my own suite in the beautiful garden with an enclosed courtyard just for me at Liz at Lancaster, I was more than impressed! So much attention to detail, everything you need, great bed, umbrella in the courtyard for moi the smoker in case of rain ... all at a very reasonable price. Thank you Liz!

Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz at Lancaster Guest House, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Thank you Tisha G. From somebody who has stayed all over the world AND has been an AirB&B superhost, this is excellent feedback. We are delighted that you found us. And that you had a comfy night's sleep and made use of the private courtyard. We hope to welcome you back again.
Take care and thanks again
Liz and all the team at Liz at Lancaster: Mr T, Catherine and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020

This was a lovely "home from home" guesthouse. Liz and all the staff were very welcoming on our arrival and during our short stay. The room we had was very spacious and clean with a kitchen/dining/lounge area, a large very comfortable bed and a nice little leafy patio area which was great to sit out on an evening and enjoy Liz's house red wine! The breakfasts were excellent and cooked to order. Mr T was a very safe, careful driver on our trips to and from the airport and also for the short journey to Rosebank. Liz has a wealth of information about the area and further afield and this was invaluable to us. Thank you, will see you again in July!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gillybopz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz at Lancaster Guest House, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2020

Thank you Gillybopz for this wonderful feedback of your stay here. We are pleased you were so happy staying here. We get such excellent comments about the service levels, the wonderful privacy, the value for money and how "there is everything that you need". But so many of these comments are made to us and not on TripAdvisor. So thank you for sharing this with everybody. Mr T gave a big appreciative smile when I gave him your feedback.
We certainly look forward to see you in July
From us all at Liz at Lancaster; Liz, Mr T, Catherine and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020

We were fortunate to find Liz at Lancaster Guest House. From the moment I made the reservation until our departure, Liz was helpful. She and her staff are capable, kind and knowledgeable. They made our (too short) stay easy and comfortable. We had a late flight from Johannesburg on the day we departed. Liz made it easy to store our luggage so we could change clothes and reorganize before going to the airport. She provided airport pick-up and drop-off.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Road127941
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz at Lancaster Guest House, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2020

Thank you Road127941. Your stay WAS very short but I'm just so pleased that it all went off well. The things that you mention are what make for a smooth stress-free visit : direct and immediate contact between you as guest and me as establishment owner/manager; safe and hassle free airport collection and drop-off; value-added conveniences like late check-outs and being able to leave luggage safely. These are things that a photo does not show! And are things that are often overlooked when dealing through a third party booking site.
Thank you from all at Liz at Lancaster: Liz, Mr T., Catherine and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

This is our 3rd trip to South Africa with our family and my wife’s parents have stayed here countless times before. We always fly into JoBurg and always stay at Liz at Lancasters. Liz is the most lovely hostess, the staff is beyond kind and we have gotten to know them over the years. They always remember our kids and we reconnect immediately. Secure and comfortable accommodations with lovely breakfast made fresh by Mr. T(agala). Beautiful gardens, weaver birds in the trees, and multiple private residences on the property. Best B&B in the area hands down.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank petermed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz a, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

What a nice way to start the decade of the roaring '20s - to read your review Petermed, of your stay here in October. We have made such wonderful friends and connections over the more than 2 decades Liz at Lancaster has been running, and you and your family are among them. That sense of re-connection is important to us all. We hope it is not too long before you are back again - Mr T's kitchen is already waiting for you with more freshly cooked breakfasts to order. Thank you once again from us all at Liz at Lancaster: Liz, Mr T, Catherine and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews