We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/02
Hotels.com
US$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/02
Agoda.com
US$151
US$120
View deal
SAVE US$31
Free cancellation until 21/07/02
Expedia.comUS$139
eDreamsUS$151
TravelocityUS$139
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
324
91
33
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
324
91
33
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel rosebank mall i highly recommend this hotel lovely hotel rooms are spacious beautiful decor small hotel wonderful stay breakfast was included business trip jo burg unity garden oasis uber function
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2020

I had a wonderful stay and the staff were really friendly and attentive. The room was spacious, bright and clean. The pool is great and the garden is beautifully well kept. The central location makes it really easy to get around the city . I will definitely be back

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robjenkins34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager, Owner at The Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Dear RobJenkins34,

On behalf of the staff and management of The Winston Hotel, I would like to thank you for your kind review and for staying with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

The Winston Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2020 via mobile

I travelled for business. The wifi is almost non functional.

There is an alarm on the faulty solar panel system that beeps every 20 seconds.

Drunken, very loud guests in the bar were allowed to drink and party until 03.00 after which the poor security guard tried to guide them to their rooms.

My room was not cleaned and there is no soap - rest of the amenities are almost empty in the bottles which are not sealed.

I would never recommend this hotel and will never stay there again.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank AliceleRoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager, Owner at The Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Dear AliceleRoux,

Whilst we greatly value and welcome our guests feedback, and feel it gives us a chance to listen and improve, it is also well known that Tripadvisor is at times used as a tool by guests for financial gain and unjustified compensation.

Our management team have been in touch with you and have tried to resolve these matters with you. Unfortunately you have denied their response and gesture of goodwill, as you say it does not cover your travel expenses of over R5000. We do not feel it is just nor our hotels responsibility to compensate your travel and flight expenses.

We have investigated your concerns in detail and would like to address the following;

There is no faulty solar panel, nor does it have an alarm. This has been checked and verified by our management team.

Our bar closes at 11pm, we do not serve alcohol after this time so guests would not be allowed to drink and party in the bar until 03:00.

Our housekeeping team attempted to clean your room on multiple occasions and you requested that they leave, as you were working in your room. Your soap was replenished and all of our amenities are replenished and replaced with new toiletries when finished as well as after each stay.

Our guests well-being is of utmost importance to us and our team do their absolute best to accommodate our guests needs, if at any point you had any complaints or requests, I have no doubt that our team would have addressed your concerns and assisted you at all times during your stay.

Regards,

The Winston Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020

Just left the Winston hotel after staying for four nights
This hotel is just brilliant the staff make it they are so friendly David the driver gives you the history of Johannesburg well he’s driving you about pail the barman is a treasure the housemaids are incredible the front of house cheerful the restaurant staff so happy and helpful
The bedrooms are large, super clean , bright, the Retford is good recommend the breakfast
Hotel is perfect for business trips and holiday vacations
So pleased we stayed her it made our Johannesburgh trip

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank RobertW6636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotelJHB, Guest Relations Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2020

Dear Robertw6636,

On behalf of The Winston Hotel, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for your kind review.

Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Team - Winston Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2020

We really enjoyed our stay here the staff were very helpful and friendly, the food in the restaurant which we ate in several nice was excellent and our room was delightful. This is a little oasis of calm with beautiful décor in a nice suburban area. We could walk to the local mall for coffee and a browse or grab an Uber to go further afield. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotelJHB, Guest Relations Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2020

Dear Julie C,

On behalf of The Winston Hotel, we would like to thank you for staying with us and for your kind review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest regards,

The Team - Winston Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2020 via mobile

Hotel itself is nice. Also most of staff are friendly and professional. Except we had a bad experiences. They charged 72 euro for early check in ( not very common in 5 star standard. After we checked out charged another 75 euro for the gown that the check in lady forgot to provide us !!! Very bag management and money driven business I have been traveling the world for the first time for treated like this so be careful!!!! Never go back again. Photo look btw nicer than in real if you were to go to Jo burg stay at 4 seasons it is a lot nicer and the end price is the same feel very bad.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank eddyvoyage365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotelJHB, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Further to reporting your harassment and constant threats to booking.com, we would like to address your claims made in this damaging review.
You arrived early in the morning and were advised of the early check in fee, which you agreed to and accepted. You then proceeded to have the breakfast included in the early check in fee. Our check in time is 14:00, should you wish to check in 7 hours earlier to this and consume breakfast - this generally incurs a fee at all hotels. You were well informed of the costs involved and agreed as such.
Our housekeeping team clean all rooms and does a stock take of various objects in the room twice a day, the gown was confirmed to be in your room 8 times during your stay. Upon check out, the gown was missing from your room. As in all hotels, and as per our terms and conditions, should items go missing during check out, you will be charged accordingly. Our gowns are available for sale at 75 euros per gown, should you have wished to take one home with you, you are able to purchase a gown at reception (and this is clearly stated in our information pack located in all rooms).
You have emailed our management team many times threatening to write damaging reviews on our hotel unless we refund you for the early check in fee which you agreed too and for the missing gown.
Whilst our aim as a 5 star hotel is to provide our guests with hospitality to the highest degree and I believe that the vast majority of our reviews prove this, we are a business and have to charge for extra services provided, as well as missing items.

The Winston Hotel
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews