We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Imbizo Tours and Travel - Day Tours
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Save
Review Highlights
Great way to see Soweto

We spent a very informative and enjoyable day touring the Soweto township of Johannesburg with our... read more

Reviewed 23 February 2020
dannag2013
,
Fayetteville, Arkansas
We highly recommend!

What a nice tour! Thanks to Mandy who was our guide and let us discover Soweto and her brand new... read more

Reviewed 14 June 2019
AlexandHugo
Read all 81 reviews
  
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
69
7
0
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
69
7
0
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews unique experience mandy community soweto township youth uprising
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2018

We did the visit as advised with Ms Mandy into Soweto. It has been an incredible experience, and very emotional. We learned so much about the place, about how people live, how people feel, how people see life... Mandy is an amazing person, so easy to talk to, and with a lot to say and to show. Really, avoid the big tour things that go in Soweto, we were just the three of us, we went deep, and it was really worth it. I actually thanks also the Guide du Routard for this great advice, and the agency for their work, I hope you will be able to continue, and also I hope with all my heart that the problem we just surfaced will see a solution in the future...

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Juliette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy M, Manager at Imbizo Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2018

Hi Juliette

Am so touched with your feedback, the days spent with you are the reasons I wake up, I truly feel blessed to share my days with people like you. Come back again, or tell a friend. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

I am taking my parents on their first trip to Africa. As an African American, it is very important to me to support black-owned businesses. My tour company suggested another tour guide but I sought out a black-owned company. Much to my regret, I selected Imbizo. We made arrangements for a tour of Soweto for the one full-day we are in Johannesburg. This morning no one showed. When our hotel called, the owner of Imbizo got on the phone with my mother and began to tell my mother this was her fault and then hung up on her. I was in the rest room and called back to express my displeasure with how she treated my mother. I explained that I chose her company over one recommended by my tour operator precisely because it was black-owned. She then told me this was why she did not like to work with African Americans. I was completely outraged. Someone else called from the company- she was extremely polite and professional and tried to make amends. But under no circumstances was I subjecting my parents to a company owned by such an insane, unprofessional and spectacularly rude person. A true embarrassment to her profession. Too bad I could not leave negative stars.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank NatalieErik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy M, General Manager at Imbizo Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Natalie

I understand your frustration and disappoint you have towards the lack of professionalism and disrespect that I had displayed that morning. I am so embarrassed in the way I had handled our phone call in the morning I should have handled it better. That is why I ensured that I find you in any way possible to profusely apologize to you and your family, and because God knew that I do not act in that manner and i was feeling guilty for my actions he lead me to find you at the restaurant where we met.I again apologize and offer a free tour as a courtesy should you ever return or you can gift a friend with this courtesy. Til me meet again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Mandy could be the unofficial mayor of Soweto, and my husband and I loved spending time with her as she let us around various parts of the neighborhood. She had first-hand experience of the 1976 uprising and speaks knowledgeably and passionately about both the history and the current issues. Great energy and one always feels safe with her. Highly, highly recommend...

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Sabine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy M, Guest Relations Manager at Imbizo Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi Sabine, what a great review. Thank you it was a pleasure hosting you and your husband. Please come again and join us on any other tour with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Mandy has been an excellent and very enjoyable tour guide showing us the contrasting sides of Soweto. Having grown up there and being a committed community activist she is very knowledgeable concerning all facets of local life, including the history and culture of this vibrant part of South Africa. We could not have thought of a better way to get to know Soweto.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank KerstinTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy M, Guest Relations Manager at Imbizo Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you so much Kerstin. Am so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

WOW WOW WOW!! Thank you Mandisa for making my 60th birthday tour of Soweto everything I expected and more. Everyone on the tour (30 people) without exception loved it! From the luxury bus (with toilet) to the restaurant in Vilikazi Street and the Community Centre. That you arranged the saxophonist to play Happy Birthday, just shows that special touch you and your company have.
That your company gives so much back to the poorest of the poor in Klip Town and allowed us that small privilege was amazing!
I would recommend all South Africans take this tour!
A Big thank you once again for making my day so special!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy M, Guest Relations Manager at Imbizo Tours and Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

We so happy to hear you enjoyed your birthday with Imbizo tours. We were honored to host such an amazing group of people. We were also touched when everyone came together to give back, that is what makes us true South Africans. We hope to celebrate your 61st birthday next year. Again thank you for choosing Imbizo Tours and supporting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews