We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a trip just to spend a day (or 3) with Mandy”

Imbizo Tours and Travel - Day Tours
Ranked #22 of 88 Tours in Johannesburg
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Worth a trip just to spend a day (or 3) with Mandy”
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The biggest surprise when doing the "usual" wildlife and Victoria Falls southern Africa trip was spending time on 3 afternoon/evening tours with Mandy. I was interested in seeing some of the historic sites and culture of Johannesburg on the 3 "layover" days we would have, but I never expected that to turn out to be THE highlight of our nearly month long visit to South Africa, Victoria Falls area and Botswana (and that includes my bungee jump off the bridge at Vic Falls). She will figure out what you are really interested in and make sure you spend your time doing that. And she will have you laughing in between the places you visit. Unlike some guides who may arrange for you to have a lunch or dinner, she comes with to make sure you have a great experience. Meeting ANC "veterans" and hearing about their experiences over a beer or enjoying a jazz club (without her there it would have been nice; with her there it was an EVENT). My wife and I would go back to Johannesburg just to spend more time with Mandy. If other Imbizo guides are half as good as she is, you can't go wrong.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank sterner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    4
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Imbizo Tours - Great tour of Soweto”
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Zongy picked us up at our hotel. He was extremely knowledgeable of the anti-apartheid struggle and political aftermath. This is why we wanted to visit Soweto. We had a great tour and discussion. We learned so much! Everyone we met was wonderful.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank FeFe10708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Powerful tour”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I had a day in Jo'burg and decided to do a tour of Soweto. We read the great reviews about Mandy and booked with her for an afternoon private tour. Mandy showed us all the.major sites and we also were able to walk through Kliptown with a young guy who lives there. Mandy was great to talk to and we spent a lot of time talking about all sorts of things !

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank LCE2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mandy's Imbizo Tours were great--especially Soweto”
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Mandy's tour of Soweto, her home town, was excellent. I especially liked that she took us to Kliptown and had arranged for locals there to walk the streets with us to answer our questions and to introduce us to other residents. The personal connections were memorable.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank screenname1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Recommend!”
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We had a great experience with Imbizo tours which booked Sibati (a freelancer whose day job is teaching in high school at Soweto) as our guide. We did it super last minute - morning of and were happy they were able to accommodate us. Sibati was super fun and interesting - we talked about everything from higher education to the importance of sex ed, women's rights, HIV/ AIDs, politics, you name it. Sibati was so knowledgeable and it was great to get the perspective of someone working so closely with the younger generation in Soweto.
We took a drive around the different neighborhoods in Soweto (which is HUGE), took at look and discussed several monuments and ended the day at a super lively shebeen / (can you even call it a shebeen? it was just a super fun bar/ restaurant where locals, including those from outside Soweto, come for a nice time).

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank Denisse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Imbizo Tours and Travel - Day Tours also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Imbizo Tours and Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing