We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Half-day Tour with Mandy”

Imbizo Tours and Travel - Day Tours
Ranked #22 of 88 Tours in Johannesburg
Attraction details
Oberglatt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Half-day Tour with Mandy”
Reviewed 1 July 2016

A friend of ours booked us for a half-day tour with Imbizo Tours, and we didn't really know what to expect. In the end we were very pleasantly surprised with Mandy doing an excellent job as a guide through Soweto. During the three hours we had available she took us to very different neighborhoods, Mandela's house and other locations where history was made. Mandy is very entertaining, funny, knowledgeable and has clear political opinions which she gladly shares. Therefore, spending time with Mandy means you do not receive your average city tour, but much rather a very interesting discussion with her during which the outsider will get a first true insight into life in Soweto. Clearly recommended!

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank SAMGANTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    4
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 675 helpful votes
“No one knows unless you have been there. Mandy has.”
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Mandy spent 8 months in Ford Prison and despite this can still manage to smile at other people looking for the best in them. This takes more strength and bravery than most people have. I feel privileged to have spent the day with her. Her insight and humor are a priceless gift. If you find yourself in Johannesburg for a day or two take the time to have her show you HER city. You will not regret it. As to the negative reviews on here -- I really have to wonder who they spent time with because it was not the same person I had dinner with last night.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
4 Thank fireman452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience ”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

Mandy is so knowledgable and accomplished, this was such an incredible experience for all of us. We only had 2 days in Jo'burg so we did the half day city tour straight into the Soweto shabeen crawl - first stop was Mandy's friends' shabeen, full of folks ready to invite us in and talk politics and current events over beer and cider, we were enthralled and had to be pried out. Dinner was great and we ended the night dancing with locals, so much fun and everyone was so nice. Took the Soweto day tour the next day, including a mind blowing walk through Kliptown with a resident who kindly showed us his home. It was difficult to see a lot of it but everyone was so nice and we are so glad we had this opportunity.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank reneegilinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a fantastic tour”
Reviewed 23 April 2016

This is a tour for those who want to have their preconceptions blown apart, to meet people close up, and experience what feels like a genuine introduction to Soweto. My friend and I enjoyed an unforgettable time with Mandy, who shared her passion for the city, its people and its history. I could not recommend Imbizo tours more highly.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Be prepared to interact!”
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Going on tour with Mandy is not your average experience. I imagine if you're not talkative this is not going to be your thing, you better get into a larger tourist bus. However, if you like to interact, discuss, change locations spontaneously then you're in good hands with Mandy. We were talking, a lot, learned so much about history, politics, her life, SOWETO, her opinion on the future. And be prepared: She's got a strong opinion. I even found myself arguing with her. And that's what I loved. You don't get that nicely packaged product but an authentic, lively tour! We visited a street hair dresser with Mandy's daughter, made a spontaneous stop at a local brewery, had a brief stop at a wedding, talked about anything and everything and had a as much of a look at SOWETO as possible in three hours. Highly recommended if you're up to the task :)

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank grantlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Imbizo Tours and Travel - Day Tours also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Imbizo Tours and Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing