We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An average experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johannesburg Zoo

Johannesburg Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51,41*
and up
Johannesburg Zoo Half-Day Guided Tour
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

One can appreciate the wide variety of animals and enclosure space to an extent, however, the zoo requires more information about the animals on the sign post situated at the enclosure and some enclosures doesn't have any.
I would also like to highlight that they praise themselves on maintaining a high standard of animal welfare, but when ones looks deeper into the simpler things, one can see slight neglect... example the pygmy hippo enclosure- Minimal water .. Most of the animal enclosures that required water were either minimal or extremely dirty and some of the enclosures were not cleaned.
They should also re-look at updating the information on the site and not only the fees section.
.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank nathan102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    397
    177
    58
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stroll”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was here scoping this out for when I bring my family here one day in the future. A really good exhibition of African animals. It's also a nice, spacious and family friendly venue for picnics or birthday parties. However, if your kids are of the right age and you have the time I would rather recommend heading out to Pilanesberg on a day safari.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very Interesting Park.. School kids can benefits a lot of it specially for their school projects. Very helpful staff and lovely gardens

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
140 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“OK outing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not the best in terms of animals but it was a nice place to spend time walking in when we didn't know the city or know what parks would be good. Enjoyable couple of hours.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Moonlight Tour & Dinner Picnic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friends and family were on the lookout to do something different - not the usual dinner, movies or games and wanted to make it a family friendlt activity.


With a little research we discovered The Joburg Zoo did night tours!

Sunset tour (4pm - 6:30pm)Moonlight tour (5:15pm - 8pm)Night tour (6:15pm - 9pm)

We were a group of almost 30 - and everyone one had a wonderful time on our guided moonlight tour.

The tour allows picnic baskets and includes a bonfire, hot chocolate and marshmallows - a fun finish to a great tour.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank HoneyGhany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johannesburg Zoo also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Johannesburg Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing