We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Dakota Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dakota Lodge
Ranked #41 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2017

The service was excellent and the breakfast was very nice as well. The room was very clean and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. You also receive a complimentary hot chocolate and rusk. I would definitely recommend Dakota Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mariskavans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dak0taL0dge, General Manager at Dakota Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Thank you so much for the kind words. We hope to see you soon again. Be asure of our best service at all time.

Kind Regards
Alna van Zyl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2017

Warm welcome by professional staff. Room facing the landing strip of Rand Airport , an experience to be remembered! Thank you Captain Flippie Vermeulen. The classic Dakota on display favoured us so much so that a flight with her is a must as soon as possible!!!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sophia_Scholtemeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dak0taL0dge, Manager at Dakota Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Good day Sophia, Best wishes for the season. Thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge. We try to improve every year and your response means a lot to us.
You can keep up to date on Facebook Dakota lodge and Springbok classic air, for the flights we are doing this year. Keep well in 2017.

Kind Regards

Alna van Zyl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

What an amazing idea - a hotel in an hangar at the airport. The boys were delighted! The rooms are functional, with a shower only in the bathroom. There is a "kitchenette", with tea / coffee making facility, a prep bowl and basin - we found that useful. Sadly our A/C wasn't very good. The staff were incredibly helpful. There's free wifi in the reception / lounge. We could walk to Harvard cafe for any meals. Such a convenient lodge for pilots.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dak0taL0dge, Manager at Dakota Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017

It is always good to experience good reviews, what makes this one special, is that it was so close to Christmas. Thank you so much for that, we hope to see you soon again. We shall do our best to inprove on the things you mentioned.
Kind Regards
Alna van Zyl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Wonderful place to stay. Love where it was located. The room was very clean. Staff is willing to help you in anyway possible. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was close. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MariskadW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dak0taL0dge, Manager at Dakota Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Good afternoon Mariska,
What a wonderfull way to end the week. Thank you so much for your kind words,
We hope to have you back soon.

Kind Regards
Alna van Zyl











Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Dakota Lodge's staff and manageress provided excellent service as well as a very comfortable stay. I would recommend Dakota Lodge to anyone visiting Johannesburg and I would definitely book accommodation again with them.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nanjen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dak0taL0dge, Manager at Dakota Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to the grading of our establishment.
We appreciate all feed back, as that gives us the guidelines to do better.
Be assure that we shall welcome you back at anytime.

Kind regards
Alna van Zyl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.0 km away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#39 of 66 in Johannesburg
20 reviews
0.0 km away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
0.0 km away
Grand View B&B
Grand View B&B
#160 of 299 in Johannesburg
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Life on 3rd
Life on 3rd
#26 of 299 in Johannesburg
185 reviews
0.0 km away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
335 reviews
0.0 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Lodge

Address: Hangar 5, | Spitfire Crescent,, Johannesburg 1419, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: R437 - R765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dakota Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Safarinow so you can book your Dakota Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing