We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$267
View Deal
Expedia.com
US$267
View Deal
Agoda.com
US$267
US$227
View Deal
SAVE US$40
TravelocityUS$267
Trip.comUS$267
Orbitz.comUS$267
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
85
15
4
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
85
15
4
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2019

A stunning hotel with an amazing view of Sandford. The room was stunning and the staff were fab. A very chilled and laid back feeling in the hotel.
They arranged airport pick ups and trips with a local company who were fab too (knd tours).

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kerrychaplen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MunroBoutique, Public Relations Manager at The Munro Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2019

Dear Kerry

Thank you for your kind words. We love hearing this and were delighted to host you! :)

Kind regards
The Munro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

Exquisite views and the food and hospitality is brilliant. Rooms are beautifully appointed. Owner run and managed makes for a home from home experience. Or should I say home to palace. And the gardens. OMG. Paradise!

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank SaulB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MunroBoutique, Guest Relations Manager at The Munro Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2019

Dear SaulB1

Thank you very much for you kind review. We really appreciate it and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind regards,
Rehaad James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2019 via mobile

We had a beautiful stay at The Munro. The staff was incredibly attentive and the room was beautiful, with a large comfortable bed and a view overlooking the courtyard. The bath products were very nice too! The hotel is located in a very pretty neighborhood with many great restaurants nearby. It definitely helped kick off a great trip to South Africa.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 724veenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MunroBoutique, Manager at The Munro Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2019

Thank you very much for the kind review. We were very happy to host you and look forward to seeing you in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,
Rehaad James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2019

Had the most brilliant stay at the Munro and will definitely make this our Hotel of choice on the many visits to Johannesburg
thank you Rehaad and everyone who made my stay so welcoming
the Room was especially impressive and an important value for me was that the breakfast was served fresh and not put out in the middle of the night
Well done Munro Hotel

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lynnm735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MunroBoutique, Guest Relations Manager at The Munro Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2019

Dear Lynnn

The Munro and Rehaad were so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! Hot, fresh breakfast is a must! We do hope you visit us again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2019 via mobile

This place is everything I thought it would be and much more. It’s perfect in every way. Room 2 is huge, in suite bathroom is enormous with a very large soaking tub, two sinks, dressing area. We were on the second floor and had a large terrace that overlooked Johannesburg. The entire hotel exudes class, style and sophistication. They have a lovely infinity pool and the outside area has breathtaking views of the garden and Johannesburg. Arrangements can be made with the hotel for pickup at the airport for a fee. You can have breakfast in your room, the terrace or the Dining room. I’m not understanding some of the bad reviews about the food since every meal we had was done to perfection, delicious and beautifully presented. The owner Mark came out to meet us and was very gracious. What a terrific staff too; Suzy, James and Freeman were so friendly, helpful and accommodating. We also met the Chef, Joshua, as we kept saying how wonderful the food was so he came out to chat with us. We stayed here to rejuvenate from a 20 day adventure through South Africa before our long flight home. Staying at The Munro Boutique Hotel was the perfect ending to our trip. No need to look further.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ukienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MunroBoutique, Public Relations Manager at The Munro Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your experience at The Munro. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to the team. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you here again next time you’re in South Africa!

Best regards
Belinda Pinto
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews