We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great brunch”
Review of Voodoo Lily Cafe

Voodoo Lily Cafe
Ranked #284 of 1 251 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated on the corner of St Andrew St & Wrenrose Avenue in Birdhaven shopping centre, this sunny glass fronted restaurant brings new life to an old row of shops.The decor exudes a back to basics concept, with its tables made out of reclaimed aluminium and recycled compressed plastic and husks. Collectables sit comfortably along side more modern fittings giving the cafe a homely, comfortable feel.You are welcome at most any time to pop in for "a cup of fair trade, organic African coffee" or to linger over a "locally sourced home-made meal". Fully Licensed. Opening hours 7:00am to 10pm Monday to Saturday and Sunday 7:15am to 3pm
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We had a lovely brunch here with a couple of friends on a weekend morning. Great spot, animal friendly, and very busy. The coffee was good, juices fresh, and the menu has great, different dishes. There is also more than enough parking across the road now to accommodate the rising popularity of the centre. We had booked a table outside, and requested to be move out of the shade after being seated, which was done immediately by the friendly staff. Our food took quite long and that really is my only criticism, because everyone loved their food when it arrived. Our server was friendly and efficient, and we will definitely be back. Hope the food service will be speeded up by then!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jona_Beattie, Owner at Voodoo Lily Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Hi Elizabeth. Thanks for your lovely review.

We are always working on our speed of service out of the kitchen specially on busy times. This is due to the size of our kitchen. However, we are aware of this and are looking at ways of improving.

Looking forward to having you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2016

Voodoo Lily provides good coffee and good food in a fairly quiet spot in leafy Melrose. I was introduced to it recently and had an enjoyable eggs benedict and flat white.

Birds chirping in the leafy trees aren't overpowered by the cars passing so it's a pretty relaxed environment.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 11Skarab11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jona_Beattie, Owner at Voodoo Lily Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Thank you for your lovely review

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Tucked away in the back streets between Wanderers and Melrose. Fresh juices amazing, we had the calamari and spring rolls for a light lunch, excellent. Service attentive.

Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jona_Beattie, Owner at Voodoo Lily Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Hi Louise - Thank you for your awesome review!

we do now press our own juices on site so I am glad we are now living up to clients wishes and expectations!

See you again soon

Cheers

Jonathan and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Went there for breakfast with friends.... It was ok ... Food was nothing to rave about and the service was poor ... Waitress was absent... And was not friendly

Thank Teresacantamessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jona_Beattie, Owner at Voodoo Lily Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Hi - Thank you for your review. Please may I ask you to send me further information about your experience (what date you came, what you ate, who was the waitress) so we as the management team can follow up on your comments.

We can only improve if we receive further information so we can zero in on the incident and persons involved.

I am sorry you did not have a fantastic time - that is our aim at all times.

Please can you email me on jonathan@voodoolilycafe.com? Would really appreciate it.

Kind regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

This is not your main stream restaurant but perfect neighbourhood place situated in Illovo.
Staff are incredible friendly, menu is interesting and changes often, excellent weekly special and reasonably priced.
Perfect spot for quick meal, basic deli also in -house.
Would recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nik6311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jona_Beattie, Owner at Voodoo Lily Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you Nik6311 for your review - we really appreciate the kind words!
Hope to see you again soon
Cheers
Jonathan and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Voodoo Lily Cafe also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Voodoo Lily Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing