We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inner City wonder” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sci-Bono Discovery Centre

Sci-Bono Discovery Centre
Ranked #18 of 170 things to do in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Inner City wonder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

One of the best activities to do with younger children (aged say 5-11) - they love the interactive displays and learn while playing - great for a rainy miserable day.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Libra24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    99
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Must for all provinces”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

I was blown away by the experience at Sci-Bono Discovery Centre. First of all it is very cheap, but don't let that fool you into thinking it is not worth your time. We only had 1½ hours but you definitely need more time to see everything. I wonder how I went through high school science without ever visiting this wonderful place. Relevant for locals as well as tourists, young and old.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank Nosipiwo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We love science ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

A visit to Sci-Bono is the perfect rainy day activity. Entrance is affordable, but you will pay extra for additional workshops and activities. Cost was R10 per activity but this optional. There's definitely alot to ans takes up an entire day. The kids ages 6, 8, 11 and 12 had a blast. Even us adults found things to do. Food at the restaurant was pretty average. Our only gripe is that the activities are very unorganised ans often overlap. It's highly recommended that Sci-Bono have a map of things to do which will assist parents in planning the day better

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Skuce1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for kids, concerned about how its managed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We loved the centre and the entire initiative surrounding it. The children couldnt get enough.

The few things of concern:
1. The security lady behind the reception table fighting at the top of her voice with someone over the phone, despite the fact that there are people around her
2. The people working at the centre, sitting around busy on their cellphones not even looking up when you walk past them
3. 3 of the toilets in ladies bathrooms couldn't flush
4. Thr cafe closed at 3:50, despite the fact that the centre is open till 4:30. They also dont take cards before then as they are busy with cash up.

I hope management takes note of the above, as this is a fantastic initiative and I would hate to see it go down the drain.

Well done to all involved

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddyZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Morning visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Went there this morning with my 2.5yr old son. There was a lot to see, but most were a bit advanced for him. Will definitely go back in about a year or so. One suggestion - they need to direct or insert better signage within the venue as this will really assist in getting around. Price for admission is very good. It's also very close to Gautrain Park Station (just a short Uber away).

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sci-Bono Discovery Centre also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Sci-Bono Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing