We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Agoda.com
US$59
View deal
eDreams
US$52
View deal
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 9 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
25
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017

From my travel blog:

Our driver from 33 Melville was waiting outside arrivals with a sign with our names. We walked to the parking garage and then got into a late model BMW 7-Series! I was quite surprised. We then listened to classical music on the 40 minute drive to the guest house.

Heather had found 33 Melville on the web. The place is quite amazing for the price, they could easily charge double or triple. We had a host, butler, and chef on call at all time. I felt slightly like we had met the wrong driver at the airport and there was another Eric and Heather going to a lesser place. But we were in the right place.

Our room was bigger than a floor in our house. Everything was decorated with great taste - it was perfect for ideas. Anyways it was by far the best all-round service we've had, probably ever.

We had a mixed platter for lunch outside on the covered patio. Light jazz played over the speakers. Had a coffee, then debated dipping in the salt water pool but it looked like storm clouds so we didn't. I caught up on my blog and Heather read her book. Every so often the host popped by to see if we were okay.

We had ordered the special for dinner, chicken with harissa. We were seated at a long table, and then they brought out our dinner. The chef matched it with a local Sauvignon Blanc. The whole thing was still surreal to me.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ericdsouzatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33_Melville, Front Office Manager at 33 Melville Road, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Thank you for your kind review Eric and Heather, we really appreciate hearing from our guests.
Please do visit us again, summer is in full swing and our gardens are beautiful.

Kind regards from the team at 33 Melville road

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Once you will come into the hotel you may feel you are in the place of Alice in wonderland.
This is the home which every ladies have dreamed before!!
Every detail of ornament, furniture are so cute and cozy.
The concept of this hotel is not to be like a hotel but a home. And it is exactly true.
The staff are very friendly and nice people. There are Bio Garden inside of the big garden as well.
You can enjoy the fresh herbs from that garden in the morning.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank saorif518
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33_Melville, Front Office Manager at 33 Melville Road, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2019

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate hearing from our guests. We would welcome you back when next travelling to South Africa.

Kevin Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

On our second visit to Johannesburg we took the opportunity to stay at someplace different in the great Sandton area for the one night we were there. We were the only ones staying at 33 Melville so we had the whole house to ourselves. The entire house is marvelously decorated.

We were graciously welcomed and offered a cocktail and a snack. Our room was very spacious and very comfortable with a very large bathroom. It is such a shame that we were only there for one night. The staff are all very friendly and we especially liked having a driver available to take us to dinner. Classy. In the morning we had a lovely breakfast in the great kitchen before running off to the airport.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33_Melville, Front Office Manager at 33 Melville Road, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2019

Next time through Johannesburg please stay a little longer and enjoy our place and explore our city - our driver is happy to take you to see whatever delights you.

Kind regards
Kevin Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Beautiful bespoke boutique hotel in the heart of Sandton. The rooms are elegant and spacious. Art Deco manor house and attention to detail. Staff are absolutely amazing. Our stay here has been blissful. Highly recommend staying at 33 on Melville for business or pleasure

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sadika a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33_Melville, General Manager at 33 Melville Road, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

Dear Sadika,

Thank you for your compliments to both the hotel and staff.
I will be sure to pass on your kind words.

Looking forward to welcoming you home again!

Best regards,
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Friendly staff, cosy atmosphere, beautiful furnishings, lovely over sized bathrooms. The service and attending staff are very friendly and professional. It was a pleastaying there and I'll definitely be back.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank X7653QJericl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33_Melville, General Manager at 33 Melville Road, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for reviewing 33 Melville Road.

Kind regards,
Nicole Cramb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews