We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Full Day Or Half Day Inner City Bike or Tuk Tuk Tour with lunch
10

Book in advance
from
R 1 350,00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Ellis Park Stadium
from R 1 350,00
More Info
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
54
57
34
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
54
57
34
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2020

Watched many a rugby game at this historic stadium.
Parking is a nightmare so would strongly recommend the park and ride option for big games.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank tracyleer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2019

I first visited Ellis park 10 years ago when the Lions dismantled the Springboks 28-9. The atmosphere on that occasion was amazing, and the guided tour around the ground is equally good.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank KevinSadler2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 July 2019 via mobile

Ellis Park will always be iconic for any South African rugby player,supporter and foe. It was in this stadium that South Africa won its first Rugby World Cup in 1995. It’s been the nemesis of many visiting rugby teams that are not accustomed to playing at altitude.

Sadly Ellis Park is rarely full, not because of a lack of support for the Springboks or Lions, but due to the dodgy neighborhood. Parking on the streets is always a risk and you are lucky if you find your car undamaged or find it at all after a game.

I was lucky yesterday when the Springboks played the Wallabies, but a honest local parking guard recommended that I remove my car’s hubcaps.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank kobusm913
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 May 2019

Going to a venue like this you kind of expect the foodies to be on the expensive side, I get that so no issues there. My two biggest issues where the Public Announcement System, that you couldn't hear most of the time or make out what they where saying as it was too distorted. And parking or lack thereof. You would have thought that by now they would have entertained building a proper parkade to ensure the saftey of their patrons. Getting to the staduim is another story, like driving in the Zombie Apocalypse, but can't blame the stadium for that.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank JoeJoe1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2019 via mobile

If you can get a seat on the stands, make sure it's high enough to see the ruggas from a good perspective. I would recommend the west stand if it's a day game. The sun was pounding on the people on the east stand.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Denzil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews