We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“54 is the Score”
Review of 54 on Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
54 on Bath
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2017

The hotel is a nice hotel, not a five star hotel. The neighborhood it is in does not feel very safe. The rooms are very dated, tiny showers. The staff are very friendly, helpful and kind, however there is nothing they can do about the location of the hotel. You cannot go out at night or go for a walk. It is attached to a mall which does happen to be a big plus. There are a lot of restaurants near by and a great African market with lots of souvenirs to purchase. The market closes at 5:00pm as does the mall. Their restaurant is nice but crowded and noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM54onbath, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Sherri,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at 54 on Bath,

Rosebank is currently undergoing a "facelift" in terms of construction and therefore can have the feeling of safety being compromised. I can assure you that in terms of the hotel and it's surrounds we are very focused on the security and safety of our guests.

Kind regards
Catia Viegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017

In a nicer part of town, it’s even attached to the mall next door (but you’d never know it). Has old-world charm but it is very modern and up-to-date. Large room, large bathroom with both a tub and a separate shower. Breakfast was excellent with plated fruit and a full breakfast done the way you liked it. Not enough electrical outlets, though, and they were of different shapes so I ended up not having enough of the right kind of plugs. I didn’t ask at the desk if they had converters, though. Very quiet hotel, upscale. I’d stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM54onbath, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Diane,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at 54 on Bath,

We value your feedback regarding the plugs in the rooms and do have converters available at our reception desk for your use. Thank you for the wonderful review and we are very pleased that you would choose to stay at 54 on Bath on your next trip.

Kind Regards
Catia Viegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Fantastic food that is beautifully served surrounded my a romantic setting to share with a loved one. The staff is also very attentive and knowledgable in all food matters. Would recommend the Angus beef starter.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Peri-winkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM54onbath, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding our meal at Level Four,

The team was very pleased that you enjoyed your meals and that staff delivered on our fine dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future,

Kind Regards
Catia Viegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

What a great hotel. We were treated like royals from arrival to departure. The staff are very friendly and attentive, the room is luxurious. Had a wonderful dinner at Level 4 restaurant and the Champagne Bar is great. A fabulous treat for a couple looking to spend some away time from the kids. Worth a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank marilepeerless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catiaviegas, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at 54 on Bath,

I was so pleased to read your review and that you enjoyed your "Date Night" with us. We certainly wish that all of our guests enjoy their stay with us and once again thank you for a wonderful review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future,

Kind Regards
Catia Viegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel, I was there for 5 nights for work.

The rooms were very comfortable, all staff were excellent and friendly, the breakfast was fantastic and the access to the brilliant gym next door in the mall was a total bonus.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank DMartinDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catiaviegas, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at 54 on Bath,

The team was very pleased to read your review and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future,

Kind Regards
Catia Viegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.9 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.8 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
775 reviews
3.0 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
440 reviews
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.7 km away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Address: 54 Bath Avenue | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa (Formerly The Grace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: R2 743 - R5 057 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing