We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$89
View Deal
Expedia.com
US$128
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/06
Agoda.com
US$128
US$71
View Deal
SAVE US$57
Free cancellation until 21/03/06
Hotels.comUS$128
eDreamsUS$89
TravelocityUS$128
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
149
29
11
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
149
29
11
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great gatsby piano lounge huge bathroom stayed for two nights lovely garden visit johannesburg home from home tortoises geisha venue function
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

Hotel is an absolute dream! All the rooms are individually styled, we stayed in the Great Gatsby and it was wonderful.

Staff are very friendly, and all the facilities are well maintained.

Hotel even has giant tortoises on site!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anthonycM5581HE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with my wife and son. Rooms are very nice and cozy. Ambiance and sorrounding garden is very beautiful and relaxing. Also has a small pool dor relaxing. And the staff are all very friendly and accomodating. I really am recommending this place to everyone planning to visit Johannesburg. To Villa Simmonne staff, thank you very much for being a part of our very pleasant and enjoyable visit in this beautiful city.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank necod437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2019

Stayed for two nights. Because of wife’s disability given a garden bungalow. Hotel itself does not have a lift. Bungalow was good but does need some serious attention to modernise it and do basic maintenance. Suited us for the two nights but you would be hard pressed to stay in it for any length of time. Hotel grounds are very good and lots of places where you can sit and commune with nature, read a book or just socialise. Security is very good and there is a controlled entry to the hotel.
The staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was a problem for them. The hotel is full of memorabilia and you need to browse through the various items. For those of us who are slightly more mature it will bring back many memories. Breakfast was standard hotel fare but good and adequate. We ate dinner one night and enjoyed it. We would stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2019

Room is very comfortable, its like home from home, the food is outstanding very delicious and of great quality. Service excellent, I will definitely come and visit again. Thanks guys your tops!!!! You deserve 5 stars

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tanyaleeminnaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019

Well the grounds are gorgeous and the staff is wonderful but the clincher for me were the four huge tortoises (although I only saw two of them) wandering the grounds. Everything was so beautiful~and the bar is stunning. It's a bit of a drive from the airport but well worth the trouble. Stay here if you can!

Room tip: The rooms are all wonderful
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews