We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Celma2016
Maputo, Mozambique

Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Experience

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Mar 2020
I have used this hotel in business and holidays, always great experience, very good location. I recommend the hotel. The food and service was also very good. The valet service was also very professional.
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review
Responded 24 Mar 2020
Hi Celma,

Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to write this review. We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 6 144
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 071
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 812
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 050
6.7 km from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 914
R 1 664
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    R 1 914
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 674
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 666
7.6 km from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 665
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 659
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 659
  • Priceline
8.5 km from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 379
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    R 3 366
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 366
9.4 km from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 243
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 013
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 713
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 022
12.2 km from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin room
R 1 107
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 826
  • Expedia.com
    R 979
8.6 km from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 614
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 623
  • Hyatt.com
    R 1 600
  • Priceline
11.5 km from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 591
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
14.8 km from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 363
  • Agoda.com
    R 261
  • Expedia.com
    R 422
7.2 km from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (956)
Filter reviews
956 results
Traveller rating
427
316
124
49
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
427
316
124
49
40
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 956 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2020

Very happy with overall service, very good quality for money and very well located, right next to the Rosebank Mall.

Clean, confortable and with a very nice breakfast.
I will definitely choose the same hotel again for a similar trip.

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Miguel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2020

Hi Miguel!

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! You have outlined the aspects of our property that we truly take pride in and hope to serve customers with time and time again.

Best regards,
Nadia from the Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020

I am biased as although I live in the UK and indeed was born there I consider South Africa “home” the hotel fits with the friendly welcome vibe you find throughout the country. Staff go out of their way to please. Rooms are spacious, separate shower and bath, no complaints. Breakfast slightly disappointing in a country where fruit is plentiful the selection lacks imagination. Cannot comment on dinner as I ate in local restaurants of which there are many, located in the mall behind, a safe walk from the hotel. Car parking is shared so chargeable. Hope to return soon. Look at for the roof level swimming pool.

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Hi Neil,

Thank you for your detailed review. The specific elements you highlight are valuable and great to note. Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We hope to welcome you back home again soon!

Best regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

You will definitely receive the five star kind of treatment, comfort in the rooms and friendly customer service. You will feel like a Queen/King that you are and in someway a home away from home. It is relaxing to stay there.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Tshilidzi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Hi Tshilidzi,

Mission accomplished! This is exactly that we tirelessly strive for! As long as you feel pampered and cared for, we did what we wanted to! Thanks for staying with us!

Best regards,
Nadia from the Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020

Fantastic hotel. Excellent staff. Prime location. Great value. Wonderful amenities. Great security. Rooms are perfectly maintained and serviced.. Great restaurants in the area. Reliable WiFi service. Wonderful guest services.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank berrios2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

Good morning,

What a delight to read 10 positive things to share together with your 5/5 score! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and for choosing to stay at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg. We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2020 via mobile

My husband booked us here for a night because it was my birthday.I always rave about the Hyatt Regency in Dubai but the service we got here in Johannesburg was just terrible.From the time we checked in there was confusion the lady at the front desk said we are already booked in apparently somebody had the same surname as ours. Then in our room the aircon didn't work and the guest that stayed there before us left moulded peaches in the fridge.So the room was not cleaned thoroughly. I am really disgusted and disappointed. Will not stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank fati666222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Good morning Fatima,

I am so sad to read that your husbands' initiative to spoil you didn't turn out as planned. On behalf of the team, I would like to apologise for our staff's errors as all of them could've been avoided. After addressing it with management, the Director of Operations, Mike, advised that he addressed all the issued that was raised and e-mailed you about them. Hyatt Regency Dubai is such a beautiful property and we don't want you to feel any different about other Hyatt hotels.

Best regards,
Nadia from the Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews