We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
FayeLJoburg
Johannesburg, South Africa

Perfect couples getaway

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 09 Jun 2024via mobile
12 out of 10!
From the spa to the room to the service and the restaurant.
All such a treat!!!!
Everything was immaculate.
Highly recommend for a little getaway/staycation.
Property is absolutely beautiful with incredible views of Joburg.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 183
  • Priceline
    R 4 167
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 736
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 041
2.8 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 676
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 677
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 612
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 680
2.3 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 249
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 127
  • Vio.com
    R 1 797
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 129
3.6 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 917
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    R 1 682
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 462
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 464
3.9 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
SUN1 BEREA EXTERIOR
R 499
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 499
  • Agoda.com
    R 499
  • Vio.com
    R 499
2.1 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free parking
R 2 873
  • Priceline
    R 2 873
  • Vio.com
    R 2 873
  • StayForLong
14.2 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 052
R 878
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 878
  • Vio.com
    R 877
  • Agoda.com
    R 878
7.9 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free parking
Pool
R 366
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 420
  • Agoda.com
    R 287
  • StayForLong
3.6 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 2 560
  • Trip.com
    R 3 181
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 200
4.2 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (1 083)
Filter reviews
1 083 results
Traveller rating
785
169
78
30
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
785
169
78
30
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flames restaurant in room dining beautiful property room service attention to detail rooms are large south africa spa fs luxury concierge saxon safari honeymoon venue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1 083 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2024

We stayed at this hotel with full expectations and yet was very disappointed. Food and service at the Flames restaurant was mediocre at best. Breakfast has very limited choices, sausages are very salty, coffee was highly bitter and acidic and hollandaise sauce on their eggs is very sour. Waitstaff are nowhere to be found and usually congregates at the back, nobody checks on you and have yo call out for water to be be even refilled. It is not the kind of experience we were expecting from a FS hotel. Very disappointing.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Thank Tadalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2024

Thank you for your feedback @Tadalf. We are saddened to hear that you felt your stay did not meet the usual expectations of Four Seasons. Feedback is taken very seriously, so thank you for pointing out the shortcomings. A member of our leadership team will be in touch with you.

Our executive chef and culinary team are investigating the products from suppliers to ensure that these continue to meet the high standards required by Four Seasons. Furthermore, the team is investigating the matter of poor service and will implement corrective measures to ensure ongoing high levels of attentiveness and service.

We trust that rest of your stay at Four Seasons Hotel the Westcliff was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2024 via mobile

We stayed here on a layover night. Our bar and dining service was slow, clumsy and confused. Our servers were very nice but they lacked sufficient training. It was not up to typical Four Seasons standards. I would not stay here again even though the property and view were beautiful. If you do stay here, do not use their transfer service. It’s ridiculously overpriced for a 25-30minute drive.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Halifaxvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2024

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave your feedback. Our hotel manager has reached out to you as your feedback is important to us. We are sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations, however, we hope that we can learn more from you and address the areas that require improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2024

From the arrival tot he departure, I felt that I wasn't a client who had last visited 10 years ago, but rather a regular part of the family. Attention to detail is a must to luxury experiences and every detail was taken care without a huff or a puff from us. The breakfast and the comfortable beds alone are worth the stay, add to that the staff and the surroundings and its a sad moment at check out time.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Thank pauloP91YD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Thank you for your kind review @PauloP91YD. It was delightful having you stay with us, so thank you for choosing us for your experience. We are glad that we made your stay magical and hope that we will one day welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2024

We ended our hike/bike/safari trip at the Johannesburg Airport but unfortunately our flight back to NYC was cancelled. We considered staying at the airport but thought it would be more pleasant to uber the 25 minutes to the Westcliff. Couldn't have made a better decision. The property is lovely and the staff so kind - they extended a late checkout so we didn't have to spend hours and hours at the airport. The next day we bid our new friends farewell and went back to the airport where the second night's attempt to fly back to the states was also cancelled. Rather than accept a random bad hotel night on the airline we called the hotel and returned by uber after 1 AM. Again, lovely staff, comfortably room, peaceful surroundings - another late check out - and back out to the airport. The third time was the charm and we made it back to the states but will be forever grateful for the two days and nights that we found refuge at the Westcliff. It is a wonderful hotel run by a terrific staff - could not recommend it more - in or out of an emergency!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Thank you for choosing Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff during what might have been an unpleasant part of your journey. We are glad to have had you stay with us, and grateful for the review. At the end of a harrowing return to NYC we are pleased that we could have made the last part of your stay in South Africa a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2024

We stayed at The Westcliff from April 4 thru April 6,2024. We were warmly greeted upon check-in and the process was seamless. Our room was lovely but the bonus was the large terrace overlooking the serene neighborhood. We enjoyed a lunch and a dinner at the restaurant and found the options to be a bit limited. However, The breakfast buffet, offering many delicious hot & cold choices is not to be missed!

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Thank Tourist08923675428
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Thank you for your review @Tourist08923675428 and thank you for choosing Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff. You discovered what makes the hotel stand out amongst the typical city hotels - the village-like feel - and are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews