We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
pauloP91YD
Johannesburg, South Africa

A paradise in the city

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 02 May 2024
From the arrival tot he departure, I felt that I wasn't a client who had last visited 10 years ago, but rather a regular part of the family. Attention to detail is a must to luxury experiences and every detail was taken care without a huff or a puff from us. The breakfast and the comfortable beds alone are worth the stay, add to that the staff and the surroundings and its a sad moment at check out time.
Date of stay: April 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this review
Responded 03 May 2024
Thank you for your kind review @PauloP91YD. It was delightful having you stay with us, so thank you for choosing us for your experience. We are glad that we made your stay magical and hope that we will one day welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 670
R 5 067
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
2.8 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 362
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.0 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 665
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 665
2.3 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 672
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Hyatt.com
  • Booking.com
3.9 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin room
R 1 248
R 947
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
3.3 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 625
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hyatt.com
8.8 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 030
  • eDreams
3.6 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
    R 2 625
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 512
  • Booking.com
4.2 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 913
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 019
28.6 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 370
  • Booking.com
3.6 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (1 082)
Filter reviews
1 082 results
Traveller rating
784
169
78
30
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
784
169
78
30
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flames restaurant in room dining beautiful property room service attention to detail rooms are large south africa spa fs luxury concierge saxon safari honeymoon venue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1 082 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2024

We ended our hike/bike/safari trip at the Johannesburg Airport but unfortunately our flight back to NYC was cancelled. We considered staying at the airport but thought it would be more pleasant to uber the 25 minutes to the Westcliff. Couldn't have made a better decision. The property is lovely and the staff so kind - they extended a late checkout so we didn't have to spend hours and hours at the airport. The next day we bid our new friends farewell and went back to the airport where the second night's attempt to fly back to the states was also cancelled. Rather than accept a random bad hotel night on the airline we called the hotel and returned by uber after 1 AM. Again, lovely staff, comfortably room, peaceful surroundings - another late check out - and back out to the airport. The third time was the charm and we made it back to the states but will be forever grateful for the two days and nights that we found refuge at the Westcliff. It is a wonderful hotel run by a terrific staff - could not recommend it more - in or out of an emergency!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Thank you for choosing Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff during what might have been an unpleasant part of your journey. We are glad to have had you stay with us, and grateful for the review. At the end of a harrowing return to NYC we are pleased that we could have made the last part of your stay in South Africa a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2024

We stayed at The Westcliff from April 4 thru April 6,2024. We were warmly greeted upon check-in and the process was seamless. Our room was lovely but the bonus was the large terrace overlooking the serene neighborhood. We enjoyed a lunch and a dinner at the restaurant and found the options to be a bit limited. However, The breakfast buffet, offering many delicious hot & cold choices is not to be missed!

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Thank Tourist08923675428
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Thank you for your review @Tourist08923675428 and thank you for choosing Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff. You discovered what makes the hotel stand out amongst the typical city hotels - the village-like feel - and are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2024

Stayed here several times it is a stunning place to be in, makes you feel like you are not in South Africa. Keep in mind its a very high end place so the price is very high end as well, it is somewhat worth it if you want an escape from SA / Gauteng and not travel far or for too much. its absolutely stunning.

Room tip: There are multiple plug adaptor options but i would suggest bringing a international portable travel adaptor
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getaway18836116366
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again @Getaway18836116366, we appreciate your review. It is true that the hillside hideaway here at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff is unlike any other city hotel, which is what makes it so endearing. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2024 via mobile

We went to the Four Seasons Westcliff on dec 31st to spend one night there for New Year’s Eve. We arrived at 12:00 pm and since our rooms were not ready we went to the Flames restaurant for lunch. For appetisers we ordered hallumi kataifi, burrata salad and prawn and avocado cocktail. The halloumi was good I didn’t try the prawn and avocado cocktail but it didn’t look really appetising and the burrata I sent back because when I cut the Burrata it was completely dry in the middle with no cream. I have never seen that anywhere. They told us this is how it comes I told them they need to change their supplier because this is not the way it’s supposed to be. Even Woolworths has better Burrata. Then for mains we ordered the truffle burger with fries x 3 and I wanted the bone marrow which was an appetiser and one mac and cheese from the kids menu. They came back to us 10 min later to tell us they did not have bone marrow so then I Ordered the cauliflower soup. I took a bite of the burger it was ok I couldn’t taste any truffle to be honest and the truffle fries had no truffle in it either. The mac and cheese was really good. My soup was ok some bites were bitter but I’m not sure why.

When I went to use the restroom one was out of order so only one was available but it was occupied. I waited a bit but it was taking too long so I went to the handicap one and the lock was broken and of course someone walked in while I was doing my business. This is supposed to be a 5 star hotel we have stayed at other Four Seasons in other countries and it’s not this standard. Very disappointing. This evening there is a New Year’s Eve event at the same restaurant shouldn’t they at least make it a priority to get the washrooms fixed? Unbelievable. Honestly you shouldn’t be charging 13500 rands per room per night for a premier view room if you can’t fix the washrooms at the only restaurant you have.

The room was very nice but had too many issues. The balcony door did not lock, the lights in the balcony were not working. My sink in the bathroom was not draining properly.

New Years Eve was very nice. Buffet was nice and the band was amazing.

Breakfast was a bit of a mess. Only one person at the egg station so eggs took very long to get. She also messed up my son’s omelette order and added bacon, we do not eat pork so that was a bit annoying. You should have at least two people at the egg station if you know you will be busy since it’s New Year’s Day.

I really don’t think based on the prices they are charging for the room that it is worth it overall. Four Seasons Westcliff is not a 5 star hotel and they have a lot of work to get to that level.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank smerali
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry that your expectations were not met on this occasion. Several of the points raised have been addressed since the beginning of the year and we hope that when you return to Johannesburg, you might choose to stay with us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024

The setting was good, staff very helpful on arrival, although getting stuck in a lift wasn’t great. The food was ok, but steaks over cooked. Restaurant service was average, had to wait quite a bit. Overall ok, but not good value for money. Wouldn’t rush back.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thorvald12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Thank you for your feedback @Thorvald12. We would like to hear more of your stay so that we can look for areas of improvement. Do you mind emailing us with further details on sm.jbg@fourseasons.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews