We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Thorvald12
Norwich, United Kingdom

Good views, service and food average

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2024
The setting was good, staff very helpful on arrival, although getting stuck in a lift wasn’t great. The food was ok, but steaks over cooked. Restaurant service was average, had to wait quite a bit. Overall ok, but not good value for money. Wouldn’t rush back.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this review
Responded 03 Apr 2024
Thank you for your feedback @Thorvald12. We would like to hear more of your stay so that we can look for areas of improvement. Do you mind emailing us with further details on sm.jbg@fourseasons.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 536
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 488
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 478
2.3 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 765
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    R 1 543
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 343
  • Priceline
3.9 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 230
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    R 1 191
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 230
1.9 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Pool
R 2 873
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 873
14.2 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 065
R 878
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 878
  • Vio.com
7.9 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free parking
Pool
R 356
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 288
  • Expedia.com
    R 420
3.6 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
R 7 901
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 7 080
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 846
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 802
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 856
3.6 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 046
  • Agoda.com
    R 803
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 046
28.6 km from Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (1 083)
Filter reviews
1 083 results
Traveller rating
785
169
78
30
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
785
169
78
30
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flames restaurant in room dining beautiful property room service attention to detail rooms are large south africa spa fs luxury concierge saxon safari honeymoon venue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1 083 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2024

Best experience ever, Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast.
The staff is very professional and show that they care about their guests. I really felt very special and would definitely come back.
Thank you all for the best memories ❤️

Room tip: Its very close to zoo .
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A2779ZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Thank you for the kind and thoughtful review. We appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2024

Our experience at the Four Seasons was amazing. I would highly recommend this property. The staff was very attentive. The property was beautiful. Our room was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. Our balcony overlooked the zoo which was amazing.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Thank shellsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Thank you for choosing Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff for your recent stay @shellsmd. Thank you for sharing your experience, we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2024 via mobile

We stayed at this property twice within a week. The first stay was really quite short and average, with a poor showing service-wise at the Sunday Brunch. Everything else was fairly good, which made us head back once we had a problem in another property.

The hotel is aging and it shows at times. House keeping and service was most of the time very kind and heat-felt, which was mostly appreciated.

I was slightly unimpressed with the pool and relaxation area and thought they could have done a much better job at creating a nice relaxing atmosphere for guests looking to stay in house.

A safe and comfortable choice in Johannesburg.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JeanFelipeL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg. Our team strives to provide exceptional service and create memorable experiences. Thank you for highlighting areas of improvement that you had identified.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2024 via mobile

The best hotel in Johannesburg and certainly a flagship in the Four Seasons Group. We stayed on night on our way to the Pilansberg and made to feel like we were lifelong friends of the hotel. The team are a credit to GM William who has such friendly staff who remembered us from our last visit there in 2019! We even had the same fabulous room! DJ Mauzah playist is something every hotel needs on a Saturday by the bar. Tshepo the chef cooks the most amazing steaks in Africa!

Room tip: Has to be your destination in Johannesburg you won’t be disappointed
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank drew677
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience @Drew677. It's great to hear that your stay and dining experience was so enjoyable, and we hope to see you again when you return to this part of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2024

Super nice hotel! The staff is amazing, they did everything for to make our stay perfect. The food is good, the pool is nice & the spa as well. The gym is also clean and nice. The concierge service was amazing, she did everything for us. Booked the best places to have dinner. A perfect tour through Joburg, everything we wanted we got. We lost our iPad in the airplane and she managed to get it back to our hotel, so we didn’t waste any time on it. She booked a helicopter to Krugerpark and a pick up. I really enjoyed my holiday.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Thank joeyjgb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor van de Ven, Marketing at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Dear @joeyjgb21, thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay with us. A great concierge will make any journey so much more comfortable. We are glad that your visit to South Africa has left you with wonderful memories and hope that one day you will come back and visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews