We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Spectacular!”
Review of DW 11-13

DW 11-13
Ranked #12 of 1 496 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 August 2019 via mobile

This place just simply never disappoints! The food is always bursting with amazing flavours in a spectacular fashion.The ambience and great service also never disappoints.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank TDKAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2019 via mobile

This restaurant is an institution in JHB. I've only been twice, with the first time being incredible. The waiters and waitresses know the menu well and are able to offer good explanations, while the chef also serves a number of the dishes himself.

The chef is quite established and changes his menu quite regularly, as any good restaurant should.

The atmosphere is one of elegance and romance and definitely provides for a romantic evening.

That said, my last visit was disappointing in that the food was not up to the same standard as my previous visit. It was still good but not nearly as good as the high standards this restaurant has set for itself.

I do plan on returning soon, however, in the time being, my rating has to be 4/5.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank DaleRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2019 via mobile

It had a lovely vibe but we eat Halal only so there was only one option for us. In the 4 course meal three courses had a white veloute which became repetitive and boring.
Dessert was superb I had the mille feuille- it was a fun version with butterscotch.
Amuse Bouche was a beautiful collection of flavours and textures
I recommend it if you aren’t vegetarian or Halal.

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank cymap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2019 via mobile

A perfect restaurant for that special occasion.Marthinus personally serves each dish and explains his inspiration. There is a food and wine pairing as well as a non- alcoholic pairing. A exceptional cullinary experience. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank 1garthw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 June 2019 via mobile

This is still arguably the finest restaurant and dining experience in town.

The food is excellent and the the service never disappoint.

The chef stretches boundaries with food that you would not imagine. The complementary starters and butters give a prelude of a journey of adventure.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank MagathoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed DW 11-13 also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to DW 11-13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.