We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This must be the BEST Indian restaurant in Johannesburg!”

Thava Indian Restaurant
Ranked #81 of 1 356 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Thava tonight with friends from Cape Town. It must have been the best butter chicken I've had in a long time. All 6 our meals were excellent. The service was superb even though the restaurant was just about 100% full. Well done Thava! We will definitely visit again as well as recommend this fine restaurant to all our friends!

Thank Jacques M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vibin v, General Manager at Thava Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear.
Thank you so much for your support and valuable comment. Look forward to hosting you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2018

This is obviously a popular Indian restaurant judging by the number of diners on a midweek evening. It is large inside, with well-spaced tables of different sizes to accommodate anyone from couples to groups. It offers an extensive menu which is not too dissimilar to that found in Indian restaurants in UK. All ingredients are Halaal and they are licensed, offering a good selection of beers and wine. There is relatively secure parking outside, although as the parking area appears to be shared rather than for the restaurant only it can become crowded.

A bowl of spicy nibbles – not unlike what we might call Bombay Mix in UK – is placed on the table to pick at while studying the menu. This was pleasingly different to most Indian restaurants in UK which immediately start by enquiring how many popadoms you would like to start with, which is a good thing for those who find this immediate pressing to order popadoms as soon as your backside touches the seat irritating, but bad news for popadom lovers! In fact, I didn’t even see them on the menu at all.

Many dishes are offered as a main or ‘tapas’ (starter) size, which is good for those with a smaller appetite or if you wish to sample several dishes. In fact, the portion sizes are generous so that might be a good option. For example, I had a starter of Onion Bhaji which comprised 6 patties the size of squashed golf balls and unless a hearty eater would be much too filling for one person for a starter. In fact, even sharing it with my wife it was still a substantial starter.

The main dishes cost around about 100 rand (many are less), which is about £6 so compares very favourably with UK Indian restaurant prices, particularly given the portion sizes. We were part of a group of seven, so didn’t get to taste all of the dishes ordered, but those I did were very good and everyone expressed satisfaction with their choice.

The ambience was pleasant, the service good and the manager is certainly an asset as he is friendly and charming (and can remember the orders without writing them down, which for seven people with starters, mains, side vegetable dishes, and different nan breads was quite a feat).

Toilets may be an issue for those with mobility difficulties as they are up numerous stairs. However, I was told that there is a downstairs toilet for the disabled (although I didn’t see it) so if you have a mobility problem then ask before attempting the stairs.

All in all a very nice Indian restaurant and meal, and I would become a regular if it was closer to home.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank malabarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vibin v, General Manager at Thava Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear.
Thank you so much for your support and valuable comment. Look forward to hosting you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

An interesting menu with varied interesting choices - I love the tapas like options you have in terms of main meal choices. A large variety of indian breads as well. Good service!

Thank Foodie935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vibin v, General Manager at Thava Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear. Thank you so much for your support and valuable comment. Look forward to hosting you again. thanks vibin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

Ordered a takeaway during a recent business trip to Johannesburg. Warm and friendly welcome. Ordered a paneer masala (Mild to Hot) and garlick Naan bread.
R (95.00). Well prepared and really tasty. Will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sewpersads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vibin v, General Manager at Thava Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear. Thank you so much for your support and valuable comment. Look forward to hosting you again. thanks vibin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

We regularly go to Thava, the service is always polite and friendly and staff remember us. But the best part is the food, it’s truly made with love, always fresh and incredibly tasty. Nothing on the menu is average. We have even tried to steal a chef! Highly recommended one of our favorite restaurants in the whole of Jozi.

Thank wendy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vibin v, General Manager at Thava Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear. Thank you so much for your support and valuable comment. Look forward to hosting you again. thanks vibin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thava Indian Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Bedfordview, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Thava Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing