We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Agoda.com
No fees just great deals
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Francois T
Montreal, Canada
Outstanding
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Feb 2024
Where can I get started.. I do not have enough good words to describe the Cliffside. It is basically the closest a hotel or a resort can get to being a private villa with outstanding staff. The hotel is located in a safe neighborhood with a short drive to all attractions that Johannesburg can offer. The decor is chic. The place is spottlessly clean. The food is better than a lot of restaurant I have tried. It may be pricier than other places in Joburg but but it is worth every extra penny. Cindy and all of her team are the heart of the place, they make you feel welcome like you are family. An observation: Being on a hill with several stairs, the hotel would be less suitable for people with mobility issues. Oh! Why is it so far? I would go back in a heartbeat.
Date of stay: February 2024
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 6 831
R 6 507
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
9.5 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool Bar
Tripadvisor
R 2 761
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
10.1 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Pool
Twin room
Booking.com
R 1 016
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 682
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 003
  • Priceline
    R 1 016
9.1 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
Tripadvisor
R 1 599
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • HolidayInn.com
    R 1 617
7.6 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 456
  • Hotels.com
7.3 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 162
  • eDreams
4.8 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 15 925
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 15 925
9.2 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 844
  • Hotels.com
7.1 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    R 2 565
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 795
11.0 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 566
  • Vio.com
18.2 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
42
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
42
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews magnificent sunset viewing deck perfect getaway attention to detail place to stay sauna northcliffe bush balcony sundowners slippers jhb fireplace accommodation comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2024

It was a recommendation from my sister who took her husband for his graduation celebration. I can safely say the standard has dropped from then. We were planning to take our husbands there but after showing her the pictures and describing the difference in service, we will not be. The romantic “turn down” was such a disappointment and would not have received the strawberries and chocolates had I not asked about them. The petals to the bathroom were close to none. There were 4 candles in the bath and nothing on the basin. It was really below par, no birthday note or any of the special touches my sister had gotten. There seems to be a change in management which is why things have changed but it’s really disheartening. I spent so much money to make my husband’s birthday special and there was really no effort. Which defeats the purpose of going to a boutique hotel. To add on that the breakfast was burnt we couldn’t even finish. The fruit platter could have been done by a 5 year old with bananas cut in half. I’m extremely disappointed

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sindiso N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Kinsley, Owner at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Dear sindison2024

Thank you for the feedback on your time with us. We truly strive to create the best possible experience for each and every one of our guests, The experience is often unique to each occasion, and I am sorry that the turndown did not meet your expectations. We will most certainly look into what happened with your breakfast, as I can assure you that this is in no way consistent with our standards. Thank you for taking the time to prepare this, as your feedback is important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2023

A wonderful stay with a staff taking care of all your possible needs and being so nice. A great cook preparing excellent food, and a very nice room fully equipped and high tech and having a great view on the cliffs.

Room tip: A wonderful stay
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 45Oli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Kinsley, Owner at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2023

Dear 45Oli,

Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review with other travellers.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you, and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay here at The Cliffside. We appreciate your appreciation of our excellent food and good views from our rooms.

We hope to welcome you back to The Cliffside on your next visit to Johannesburg.

Warm Regards
Cindy Machete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2023

Highly recommended – beautiful facility, first class all the way. Outstanding food and they accommodated my vegetarian diet beautifully. We only had one night but never left the property other than to walk the trails behind the property to a lovely view of the city. Unique in that it felt like a beautiful home with lovely art, etc. and staff was very welcoming and helpful.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Kinsley, Owner at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2023

Dear SharonII2014,

Thank you so much for highly recommending our hidden gem to other travellers.

We are pleased to hear of your beautifull Cliffside experience, and how you enjoyed our facilities especially the food and our collection of lovely art pieces from African artists.

We hope to welcome you back to The Cliffside Boutique Getaway on your next visit to Johannesburg.

Warm Regards,
Cindy Machete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2023

Arriving at the property at the top of the hill, the Northcliff suburbs just greet you with a sense of being amongst the who's who in the city. The trees lining up the streets make you feel at one with nature. When we made it inside, the number of times we said "wow" could fill up a trilogy of books. Absolutely top tier VVIP treatment from the staff and with a welcome cocktail perfectly tailored for us just by the chef's judgement. I was beyond impressed. The property is cozy and intimate. Great for couples or families that are looking for peace and quiet with a touch of special treatment. All our meals were made from scratch and to order and we couldn't get enough of the food aside from the fact we just couldn't finish them because of the generous portions. Beyond delicious! Presentation is bar none, one of the best I've seen ever. The views from the rooms are breathtaking and pristine. The bed, bathroom and amenities, as clean as can be. There really isn't a single fault I found with our stay. I must come back again and again. To anyone considering this, please don't hesitate. It's worth every single penny.

Room tip: The sunlight hits hard during the day. Highly encourage wearing sun screen
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stomzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy Machete, General Manager at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Dear Stompy,

I hope you are well and thank you so much for sharing your detailed experience of The Cliffside Boutique Getaway with other travellers.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your loved ones on your recent visit to Johannesburg.
We are delighted to read that we have exceeded your exceptions, and that you enjoyed all aspects of our facilities especially the our food and amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cliffside on your next visit to South Africa.

Warm Regards
Cindy Machete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2023

This place is magical, a real paradise on earth, where each details is studied with much attention and dedication and where beauty and love are tangible. I've been welcomed with so much kindness. Food is fantastic cooked with fantasia and served with excellent wine. Even if staying only two nights and with not so much time to enjoy, I could fully regenerate and allow my body and heart to experience a deep sense of wellness and peace. I left with a wish to come back soon!

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dream51996827708
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy Machete, General Manager at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2023

Dear Dream51996827708,

Thank you so much for sharing your amaizing Cliffside experience with other travellers, and for taking time to put together this poetic but yet true review that best depict The Cliffside Boutique Getaway .

Our wish is to host you again in the nearer future.

Warm Regards
Cindy Machete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews