We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Dream51996827708

Truly a paradise with an amazing view to Johannesburg

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 May 2023
This place is magical, a real paradise on earth, where each details is studied with much attention and dedication and where beauty and love are tangible. I've been welcomed with so much kindness. Food is fantastic cooked with fantasia and served with excellent wine. Even if staying only two nights and with not so much time to enjoy, I could fully regenerate and allow my body and heart to experience a deep sense of wellness and peace. I left with a wish to come back soon!
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy Machete, General Manager at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this review
Responded 06 Jul 2023
Dear Dream51996827708,

Thank you so much for sharing your amaizing Cliffside experience with other travellers, and for taking time to put together this poetic but yet true review that best depict The Cliffside Boutique Getaway .

Our wish is to host you again in the nearer future.

Warm Regards
Cindy Machete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 5 229
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
9.5 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 2 408
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
7.9 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 998
R 1 905
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hyatt.com
10.2 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 632
  • Hotels.com
4.8 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 286
  • Algotels
7.4 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool and two story room structure
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 616
  • Priceline
7.7 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    R 2 430
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 612
11.0 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 1 840
  • Algotels
7.1 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 421
  • Booking.com
10.2 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
43
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews magnificent sunset viewing deck perfect getaway attention to detail place to stay sauna northcliffe bush balcony sundowners slippers jhb fireplace accommodation comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2023

This exclusive and luxurious Boutique hotel is absolutely exquisite.
From the warm welcome of the team to the beautifully decorated rooms and absolutely stunning views, I highly recommend this boutique hotel.

The bedrooms are extremely spacious and modern. The cuisine was superb and all the surrounding pool areas, sauna, the deck and nature trails are exceptional.

Completely serene and peaceful accompanied with fantastic service from the entire team.

A special thank you to Phindy, Connie, Cindy, Mmatau and Elias for ensuring that we had a memorable and enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nalsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy Machete, General Manager at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023

Dear Nalsin,
I hope you are well and thank you so much for sharing this exquisite review with other travelers.
The Cliffside is indeed one of the best boutique country houses in the world and we are honoured to have shared our beautiful little slice of Johannesburg with you. I have shared your review with the entire team and they are very appreciative of your kind review.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next short-left adventure in Johannesburg.
Warm Regards
Cindy Machete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2023

Cliffside was nothing less than the perfect retreat. Staff were so lovely - especially getting to know Cindy and Connie, and Emmanuel on the way to and from the airport (~1hr). He had fantastic jazz playing in the car and we found out he also plays jazz bass!

Up through the winding roads Cliffside slowly emerges, an oasis after a long flight. Every detail was seen to, and the place was kept clean and tidy while still retaining the welcoming warmth of a comfortable home.

It was a bit cold for swimming, but we made use of the sauna and walking trails up to the park.

Breakfast was a strong highlight! Their selection of fresh cut fruit, cheese, and cold cuts is not to be missed. Nor could we forget the splendid avocado toast and full-English, or variety of teas. If you saved space for other meals, we especially liked the lambchops and open-faced sirloin sandwich, though you may find some portions are big enough to share!

After dinners we returned to find chocolates on the pillows, and the room turned down before easing tired feet into the coziest slippers I've ever had away from home.

The staff at Cliffside were so accommodating to a sudden change of plans on our way back through Joburg, and we were thrilled to return to Cliffside for one night instead of staying at the airport hotel. We knew we'd be back, just not that soon!

Everyone was so helpful and enthusiastic throughout the stay and we greatly enjoyed the conversations we had.

We would highly recommend this retreat to anyone looking for a restful break!

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stevenandjanetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy Machete, General Manager at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023

Dear Steven and Jane,

Thank you so much for the excellent and detailed review on your recent experience of The Cliffside Boutique Getaway.
Both your wittyness, passion for art and Jane's cute giggles in between our conversations is never to be forgoten, you were wonderful guests and that made hosting you an absoloute pleasure.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us as much as we loved having you here.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Cliffside Boutique Getaway on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind regards,
Cindy Machete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2023 via mobile

A lovely place, with a stunning view of Johannesburg, and great service. Certainly an excellent place for tourists, but also for me, who spent several weeks as an academic, an excellent place to study and work. They adapt to your needs and try to make life as comfortable as possible to you. Johannesburg from its most pleasant side.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank frankr546
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy Machete, General Manager at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2023

Dear frankr546

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide such wonderful and detailed feedback following your visit to The Cliffside boutique getaway. Also, thank you so much for sharing the lovely pictures.

The Cliffside was designed with our guests from different walks of life in mind by creating spaces that are both welcoming and comfortable, and I am happy that you were satisfied with the working spaces provided.

Also thank you for the recognition of exceptional service by our incredibly attentive staff, I will share this fantastic review with our entire team.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again on your next visit to South Africa.

Warm Regards
Cindy Machete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2023

The Cliffside is exceptional. My husband and I stayed here during our visit to Johannesburg from the US and were truly blown away. It is absolutely beautiful, but more importantly - the service is incredible. From the moment you first arrive, Cindy and the rest of the Cliffside team are there to provide personalized service. In fact, I was even sick one of the days and the staff sent me a beautiful bouquet of roses with a lovely note.

The food is amazing. The chef, Phindy, is so good at what she does and the wait staff (especially Connie!) is so attentive and kind. The food is prepared at your request and each meal far exceeded our expectations. Make sure you have the braai!!

The location of Cliffside is great, too. It feels SO secluded and even has hiking paths, yet you are such a short distance from all of Johannesburg. Cindy at Cliffside set us up with a driver named Sandele who was the BEST. If you're in need of a tour guide, we recommend him for sure!

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alexandria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy Machete, General Manager at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023

Dear aqwashington,

Thank you so much for the exceptional review and for sharing it with other travellers.
We are honoured to have shared our beautiful little slice of Johannesburg with you and Draymond. The Cliffside team is indeed one of the best teams in the industry, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of our facilities and very apreciative of the recognition of our efforts and kind gestures.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cliffside Boutique Getaway on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind Regards
Cindy Machete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2023

If you looking for a slice of paradise, in the heart of Joburg, with a stuff thats loves what there are doing and an ever ending smile. A definite gate away. Trust me, the view from sunset till sunrise is breath taking.

Room tip: The place is very peaceful.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DannyK2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy Machete, General Manager at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2023

Dear DannyK2008

Thank you so much for choosing The Cliffside on your big day and once again congratulations on your engagement.
It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your fiance, and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed every bite of our slice of Jo'burg .
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cliffside in the nearer future.

Warm Regards
Cindy Machete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews