We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Frank R
Bielefeld, Germany

Excellent place to stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Apr 2023via mobile
A lovely place, with a stunning view of Johannesburg, and great service. Certainly an excellent place for tourists, but also for me, who spent several weeks as an academic, an excellent place to study and work. They adapt to your needs and try to make life as comfortable as possible to you. Johannesburg from its most pleasant side.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy Machete, General Manager at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this review
Responded 23 Apr 2023
Dear frankr546

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide such wonderful and detailed feedback following your visit to The Cliffside boutique getaway. Also, thank you so much for sharing the lovely pictures.

The Cliffside was designed with our guests from different walks of life in mind by creating spaces that are both welcoming and comfortable, and I am happy that you were satisfied with the working spaces provided.

Also thank you for the recognition of exceptional service by our incredibly attentive staff, I will share this fantastic review with our entire team.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again on your next visit to South Africa.

Warm Regards
Cindy Machete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 238
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 013
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 713
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 020
4.8 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 953
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 2 953
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 428
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 419
7.9 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 765
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    R 1 543
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 344
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 343
10.2 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin room
R 1 166
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 797
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 068
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 062
9.1 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 251
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    R 1 240
  • Priceline
    R 1 251
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 253
11.5 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 980
R 878
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 878
  • Agoda.com
    R 878
  • Vio.com
    R 878
14.9 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free parking
Pool
R 9 024
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 9 004
  • Agoda.com
    R 7 431
  • Priceline
    R 8 585
9.5 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 591
  • Priceline
    R 3 990
18.3 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    R 420
  • Agoda.com
    R 263
  • Expedia.com
    R 420
10.2 km from The Cliffside Boutique Getaway
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
43
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews magnificent sunset viewing deck perfect getaway attention to detail place to stay sauna northcliffe bush balcony sundowners slippers jhb fireplace accommodation comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2023

The Cliffside is exceptional. My husband and I stayed here during our visit to Johannesburg from the US and were truly blown away. It is absolutely beautiful, but more importantly - the service is incredible. From the moment you first arrive, Cindy and the rest of the Cliffside team are there to provide personalized service. In fact, I was even sick one of the days and the staff sent me a beautiful bouquet of roses with a lovely note.

The food is amazing. The chef, Phindy, is so good at what she does and the wait staff (especially Connie!) is so attentive and kind. The food is prepared at your request and each meal far exceeded our expectations. Make sure you have the braai!!

The location of Cliffside is great, too. It feels SO secluded and even has hiking paths, yet you are such a short distance from all of Johannesburg. Cindy at Cliffside set us up with a driver named Sandele who was the BEST. If you're in need of a tour guide, we recommend him for sure!

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alexandria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy Machete, General Manager at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023

Dear aqwashington,

Thank you so much for the exceptional review and for sharing it with other travellers.
We are honoured to have shared our beautiful little slice of Johannesburg with you and Draymond. The Cliffside team is indeed one of the best teams in the industry, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of our facilities and very apreciative of the recognition of our efforts and kind gestures.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cliffside Boutique Getaway on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind Regards
Cindy Machete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2023

If you looking for a slice of paradise, in the heart of Joburg, with a stuff thats loves what there are doing and an ever ending smile. A definite gate away. Trust me, the view from sunset till sunrise is breath taking.

Room tip: The place is very peaceful.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DannyK2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy Machete, General Manager at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2023

Dear DannyK2008

Thank you so much for choosing The Cliffside on your big day and once again congratulations on your engagement.
It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your fiance, and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed every bite of our slice of Jo'burg .
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cliffside in the nearer future.

Warm Regards
Cindy Machete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2023

I had the most incredible experience, the food was amazing, the views were iridescent, the room was clean and comfortable but most importantly for me is the staff were helpful, kind and professional. I would go back anytime with pleasure.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Journey39733792374
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy Machete, General Manager at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2023

DearJourney39733792374,

Thank you for choosing The Cliffside for your romantic getaway, and for sharing this icredible 5***** review with other travelers. 
We are very appreciative of your acknowledgement of the staff efforts as such reviews motivates the team to do even more for our guests.
 We assure you that almost a year later the views are still as iridescent as ever, and our room standards, services & meals have also improved.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cliffside in 2023.
Warm Regards
Cindy Machete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2023

From start to finish this was a lovely way to begin our trip in South Africa. The staff was kind and attentive, the food was outstanding, and the rooms were clean and fully equipped with bathrobes, slippers, lotions, shampoos, and conditioners. We were able to watch the world cup while we there and enjoyed a magnificent sunset from our balcony. My only regret is we did not stay longer. We will be back someday soon.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megans426
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy Machete, General Manager at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2023

Dear megans426,

I hope you are well and thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review with other travellers, we are really honoured to get such a beautiful review from someone that is in the travel and tourism industry.
Your family was very courteous and you made it easy for our team to serve you, please keep up the good work in raising well mannered kids and our future leaders.
We look forward to welcoming your family back to The Cliffside in the nearer future.

Best Regards,
Cindy Machete .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2023

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful place after attending a wedding in Limpopo. It was the perfect getaway for a few days for us to rest up and reconnect. The food is phenomenal, from breakfast, charcuterie board, to dinner, and treats on the bed with turn down service. We couldn’t bring ourselves to eat anywhere else because we enjoyed it so much! Lamb, sirloin steak, seafood pasta! It was all delectable. Thank you to chefs Mbali and Phindy! We felt so taken care of by Mmatau and Cindy for anything we needed while we were there. They anticipate your every need and create a luxurious and relaxing environment that is immaculately clean. They made sure we got the Joburg experience by hooking us up with chauffeur extraordinaire Emmanuel who took us to the Apartheid Museum, Soweto, and Nelson Mandela’s house. He made sure we got to experience all aspects of Joburg, and even made trips to two different Puma stores for us to find special boots that are only sold in SA. Lastly, Paul and Elias were so friendly and helpful during our stay. Everyone we encountered was phenomenal and went the extra mile to make the stay not only memorable, but a place I can’t wait to come back to! Other areas to note: many beautiful balconies with views and a path to a viewing deck overlooking Joburg, a shower like a spa, pool with a waterfall fountain, walking paths on a cliffside that you can hike to the top with a guide, a great place to watch the many birds of Joburg (hadidas, go away bird, Guinea fowl ), sauna. We were so sad to leave because I’m not sure anywhere can compare to the services and amenities that are provided by the Cliffside! It’s my favorite place I’ve ever stayed.

Room tip: 5 star meals here!
Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kklaus2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy Machete, General Manager at The Cliffside Boutique Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2023

Dearkklaus2022,
Thank you so much for this beautifull review and for choosing The Cliffside on your recent visit to South Africa.
It was an absoloute pleasure hosting you and Chris, and we are delighted that you enjoyed all aspect of our facilities .
Our team is one of the most valuable assets we have, and we trully apreciate your kindness in remembering and acknowledging each and everyone of us. I will certainly share this review with the entire team :) .
I hope the rest of your vacation went as planned and that your surfing experience in both P.E and Cape Town was just as great.
Once again thank you so much for choosing The Cliffside and I look forward to hosting you on your next visit to South Africa.
Warm Regards,
Cindy Machete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews