We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
US$330
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/12
eDreams
US$330
US$214
View Deal
SAVE US$116
Booking.com
US$330
US$214
View Deal
SAVE US$116
Trip.comUS$292
Agoda.comUS$214
StayForLongUS$311
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (990)
Filter reviews
990 results
Traveller rating
903
63
12
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
903
63
12
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse rolls royce hot tub piano bar madiba suite private jacuzzi rooftop spa decanter of sherry turn down service attention to detail nelson mandela moment you arrive sitting area south africa hour flight travel agent stayed here for one night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 990 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2019

To treat ourselves following the end of a very tough trip through Zambia 6 days and primitive Madagascar we stayed for 2 nights at this super luxe boutique hotel. Constructed from the old Chinese embassy and an adjoining house the space is behind high security walls. Elegance reigns supreme with an over abundance of Persian carpets and chandeliers. Each room requires a study of the art and ornate furnishings. Warren and Nicole run a perfect property. Amenities include pools,spa,manicurist,piano bar with the astounding Michael Stewart playing wonderful arrangements of oldies and Broadway tune and all of the great favorites .
The room (4) was actually three spaces with large bath and rain bird shower,king bed with delicious comforter. Complimentary water juice Amarula liquor for a nightcap, filled ice bucket, plenty of huge towels, tv, music system and just about every amenity that can be offered.
We dined each night in the elegant dining area with Michael Stewart on the piano and our waiter Prince was so kind and solicitous .
The food was gourmet all the way and every dish from appetizer to desert was worthy of a photo and a memory. Breakfast was equally superb with a selection to please anyone and eggs and meats cooked to perfection.

For a superb treat on your trip to Africa, if you transit through Johannesburg don’t miss this gem which Rates 5+ stars.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2019

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2019

We stayed in the Penthouse, the balcony area was amazing. The room was disproportionally small when compared to the amount of balcony space.

We had informed the Hotel about my Wife's dairy allergy 4 months before arrival. We also reminded them when ordering room service on the evening of arrival. At breakfast there was no non-dairy spread available e.g. margarine. There was a very limited choice for her at breakfast i.e. no pastries or alternatives, we had to request an alternative to milk and there was a lack of understanding about the food that could be consumed with a dairy allergy. We did not have this problem when on safari or on a remote beach lodge with no access to a 'shop' around the corner.

This was a disappointment for the calibre of hotel especially as we had informed before our arrival.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2019

Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it and apologise for any inconvenience cause. We deal with lots of food allergies and dietary requirements on a regular bases, with no problems, so will definitely look into why this happened and insure it doesn't happen again. Thank you once again for your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve our offerings and service. All the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2019 via mobile

This is a lovely boutique hotel with amazing staff! They gave us a complimentary ride to dinner every night and were waiting for us when we were ready to leave. Drink Six Dogs gin. Yum. The breakfast is incredible

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kf201487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2019

An overdue review - Warren and his team were outstanding when we stayed here after getting stranded it Jo-berg for a night after missing a flight connection. TBH, we were actually incredibly pleased to have ben stranded once we arrived at the Residence. The service, food and ambience is world-class. Warren helped us sort so many things and we also had an insightful and humbling tour around Soweto with Marvin who is a world-class guide. Thank-you so much for a fabulous stay - we'll definitely plan on getting 'stranded' again and come and stay! Andy and Rachel x

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awptravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Dear Andy and Rachel, thank you so much for your review and for being stranded in Joburg. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2019

We stayed here at the start and end of our stay in Johannesburg. It is truly a 5 star hotel. The management went above and beyond for us.
I booked the Madibar suite which was both spaceous and opulent. A large private outdoor deck with a lounge, day bed and spa. We stayed at the hotel for 24 hours to recover from our 14 hour flight. The day spa called and asked if we would like to pop up for a complimentary treatment (foot massage). Not only was it just what we needed, but a top quality treatment. Dinner that night was by the fire and the lovely background of a piano.
When we returned to Johannesburg from our travels and stayed the second time (the hotel kindly minded some of our luggage for us), they surprised us and upgraded us to the Penthouse. It was a larger space then the Madibar suite with two outdoor decks. One with a private spa and outdoor shower, the other deck a large garden, lounge, spa and views overlooking Johannesburg - spectacular. We had a drinks in the lounge bar. The staff were all very attentive. We asked for a late checkout as out flights were not leaving until 9pm. The management couldn't have been more accommodating to let us stay in the Penthouse suite all of the excess time before our departure. We used the hotel transfers to and from the airport 4 times and both the cars and the drivers were fabulous. It is a hotel for adults and has serious luxury with friendly and prompt service. Well worth the price. I would likely recommend a short stay.

Room tip: Pay extra for one of the larger suites - the experience is worth it
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us. We hope to welcome you back some day in the near future and would like to wish you all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews