We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$276
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/05
Booking.com
US$222
View Deal
Agoda.com
US$325
US$183
View Deal
SAVE US$142
Free cancellation until 21/03/06
eDreamsUS$222
Trip.comUS$239
StayForLongUS$325
View all 9 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (990)
Filter reviews
990 results
Traveller rating
903
63
12
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
903
63
12
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse rolls royce hot tub piano bar madiba suite private jacuzzi rooftop spa decanter of sherry turn down service attention to detail nelson mandela moment you arrive sitting area south africa hour flight travel agent stayed here for one night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 990 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2019 via mobile

Love everything about this place: the staff are Soooooo gracious, kind and attentive. The food is excellent! The rooms are large and comfy - mine even has a terrace with an outdoor shower and a tub!

I look forward to coming back!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
4  Thank RTinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2019

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again and all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2019

This is the quintessential boutique hotel, away from the hussle of the city. And, the staff aims to please on every level. Friendly, courteous and charming define the people and the amenities. Our stay was brief and early into our journey of S.A. but we have not forgotten how welcoming our initial foray was into this magnificent country.

Room tip: No bad rooms!
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank billcamera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2019

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence, albeit a short one. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip around South Africa and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2019

What a wonderful hotel. Great food, Most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! Staff are so lovely and friendly.
Loved the piano bar in the evening.
Quirky rooms with both indoor and outdoor showers/baths.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareJ109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2019

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. From all of us here at The Residence, we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2019

We landed in Johannesburg late morning and went straight to The Residence. They were kind enough to allow us to check into our room early so we could freshen up before heading right out for an afternoon tour.

Our room was clean and we immediately comfortable. There was a nice "living room" area inside the room as well as a beautiful sitting area outside the room that included its own hot tub. The property itself is feels very much like one over-sized, luxurious inn and the grounds are absolutely breathtaking. The pool areas and surrounding landscaping are so serene it is hard to imagine you are in the middle of a very large city.

The dining room certainly held it's own with a varied menu of deliciously upscale food. The atmosphere was relaxed and you did not leave that table hungry at any meal.

The staff could not have been more courteous and even arranged a quick ride to an ATM when we only asked for directions. Sadly we were only in Johannesburg overnight but we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to The Residence and will not hesitate to stay there again should our travels take us back to the area.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrsSunsh1ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2019

Thank you so much for your amazing review, it really means a lot to us and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. We hope to welcome you back some day in the near future and would like to wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2019 via mobile

We had an absolutely amazing time at this wonderful hotel. After many hours of travel, we were exhausted when we arrived. The staff was so accommodating, making sure we were fed even though it was at the end of the breakfast hour. We were able to get in to our room right away to get some much needed rest. The setting is so peaceful and relaxing. The entire property provides a sense of peace and tranquility. The food and service was superb! We highly recommend this inn.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank uarehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews