We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
trevelyon
oakland

Great staff, but not my style hotel.

Review of Ascot Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Oct 2019via mobile
Checked in with a large group and the staff did the best the could with such a large group. The people who work here are so friendly and kind. The management has done a great job training the staff.

I typically stay at larger Marriott properties. This was a different experience. The room had an actual key to get into the room. The room itself was just ok, nothing fancy. The hotel was really small and only had rooms on a few floors. If you are into small, initimate hotels, this could be for you. The staff and the service was great, which made the stay very good.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 16 Oct 2019
Thank you for your long and lovely review on our staff.

The Ascot is a very small (as you know) boutique hotel and the boutique way is very different to a main stream large roomed hotel.

The service will always be better at a smaller hotel but it is not everyones cup of tea - boutique style. None the less we hope that you enjoyed your time with us whilst visiting our country

Thank you

The Ascot Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 200
  • Official Site
    R 2 400
  • Trip.com
    R 3 193
0.9 km from Ascot Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 050
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 4 167
  • Vio.com
    R 3 911
  • Booking.com
    R 5 278
1.8 km from Ascot Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 970
R 1 676
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 887
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 850
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 844
3.1 km from Ascot Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 250
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 199
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 713
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 184
8.1 km from Ascot Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 765
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 347
  • Hyatt.com
    R 1 543
  • Priceline
    R 1 765
6.0 km from Ascot Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 067
R 878
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 878
  • Agoda.com
    R 878
  • Vio.com
    R 876
4.2 km from Ascot Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 2 873
  • Priceline
    R 2 873
  • Vio.com
    R 2 873
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 873
16.3 km from Ascot Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
SUN1 BEREA EXTERIOR
R 499
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 499
  • Agoda.com
    R 499
  • Vio.com
    R 498
3.7 km from Ascot Hotel
Free parking
R 855
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 058
  • Vio.com
    R 831
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 046
30.2 km from Ascot Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 362
  • Priceline
    R 420
  • Agoda.com
    R 303
  • Expedia.com
    R 421
5.5 km from Ascot Hotel
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
41
36
23
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
36
23
8
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2019

Unhappy with the safety and security provided. Security was non existant.No burglar guards, area surrounding the hotel seems unsafe.No parking available.Website advertises i correct infomation, misleading guest. No refunds avaialble.having you to either choose the safety of your vehicle and yourself over the non refundable payment.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank tmotil757122
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
asc0th0tel, General Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2019

Dear Guest

There is only so much slander one little hotel can take from reviews on every possible site out there.

We would never force a guest to stay with us - but you did book a room on a booking site and you did arrive to stay in your room - however writing a review on a hotel that you technically decided to not stay at after your arrival is misleading to say the least.

We are amenable to any guest who has a response or a request or who just wants to discuss something with us in a polite manner - but to publicly slate a business because you did not get your own way is unlawful to say the least!


The Ascot Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2019

Hotel was situated away from Jo-burg central which was fantastic. We were pleased about that as downtown is not a place to visit.Hotel was in a safe area to walk to the local supermarket and ideal for pick up for tours.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Viviennewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2019

Thank you for your awesome review, we are so pleased you enjoyed the Ascot experience

It makes up so happy to hear our guests enjoyed their stay with us


Yours in hospitality

The Ascot Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2019

The room furniture was old firstly, the curtains wouldn’t close well due to an old rail. Carpet had a damp smell to it. There were no toothbrush, paste, face cloths or a bar fridge. I think there could be a lot of improvements to be made

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nmmeti195128
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2019

Thank you once again for all of your reviews.

I am not sure which hotel supplies toothpaste or toothbrushes to their guests, but the Ascot unfortunately does not.

Usually guests bring their own toiletries (standard packing ) however if you required a toothbrush or toothpaste that could have been easily arranged for you.

Our Deluxe Room - which is what you booked with us, does not come with a bar fridge - we only offer bar fridges in our Superior Rooms. Basic amenities and towels, gowns and slippers is what you would have found in your room.

However once again, thank you for your many reviews on our hotel

The Ascot Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2019

i loved the fact the staff was always willing to help, my room was always clean, i made an absolute mess with makeup and i was there for business and they came in like fairies and cleaned everything before i got back, the guy at the reception even walked us to the closest pub, thank you family see you soon

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Trail36355786035
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
asc0th0tel, General Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2019

Thank you for your lovely review on our hotel.
We are so pleased that everyone made you feel cosy and at home and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon

You've made our day

The Ascot Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2019

I have stayed at the Ascot Hotel many times. It’s a terrific little hotel with nice rooms and wonderful staff. Everyone who works here is kind and helpful, whether you need a ride to the airport, print something, borrow a pair of scissors, or restaurant recommendations.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lovisa310
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
asc0th0tel, General Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review.
All of our hard work and striving towards service excellence, and then reading these types of reviews from guests, makes it all worthwhile.

Anytime you're looking to borrow some stationery we are happy to oblige!

Thank you again

The Ascot Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews