We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
tebohomanamela96
Gauteng, South Africa

Beautiful outside

Review of The Jack Rose
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 08 Mar 2024
This place is so beautiful outside but as soon as I was inside the room and greeted by cochroaches I regretted taking it. I didn't even sleep inside the sheets as I was not comfortable. The fact that there's no backup electricity made it even more unpleasant. The security and the receptionists are excellent though enjoyed their pleasantness
Date of stay: February 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
    R 4 300
  • Booking.com
3.0 km from The Jack Rose
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 010
  • Algotels
0.3 km from The Jack Rose
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    R 3 000
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 000
4.3 km from The Jack Rose
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool and two story room structure
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 146
  • Algotels
0.7 km from The Jack Rose
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 651
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 120
5.3 km from The Jack Rose
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 899
  • Hyatt.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
6.5 km from The Jack Rose
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin room
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
    R 870
  • Booking.com
6.1 km from The Jack Rose
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
    R 3 591
  • eDreams
17.0 km from The Jack Rose
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    R 940
  • Agoda.com
13064.2 km from The Jack Rose
Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 294
  • Booking.com
6.1 km from The Jack Rose
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
28
15
13
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
15
13
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rosebank mall police station pleasant stay load shedding room was spacious south africa place to stay duvet towels accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2024

An old building in an excellent location, renovated and updated. Very helpful staff.

I would definitely return myself, and strongly recommend to others looking for a central location that's affordable. A thoroughly pleasant stay.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pchris684326
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Coetzee, General Manager at The Jack Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Thank you, hope you made many memories in South Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2024

Love it! Besides the once off street shoutings noises the place was 5 star. Clean spacious and exquisite. I. Will definitely return for my next business……The buffet breakfast was out of this world. I really wished it could last for four hours…,

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gnyoni724333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Coetzee, General Manager at The Jack Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Hi gnyoni724333, relealy appreciate the review and chuffed that you love the buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2024

The studio apartment was huge and its equipped with self catering equipment and a fridge. The room also has a big smart TV though its not subscribed to any service providers.
My room had no soap or lotion, I had to go and request at the reception, the bathtub was also dirty/stained, need to be cleaned.
The breakfast buffet was good and filling,.

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mmark440371
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2023

Everything is wrong here! Mould on the ceiling, dust balls all over, exposed sockets, safe keys only kept by manager, terrible food, not near any transport and unhelpful manager whoeither blames you or screams at her staff. Photos on Google review

Room tip: Just don’t stay here.
Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2023

This is the best place ive stayed at in joburg, my only querry is that they should have a backup generator for loadshedding, but next year me and my woman are definately frequenting the Hotel, price is very affordable

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nvince755456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews