We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steakhouse anywhere!”

The Grillhouse Rosebank
Ranked #3 of 1 477 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Grillhouse, Johannesburg's most loved and well established premium steakhouse. Established in 1995, The Grillhouse offers the perfect quadfecta in dining - great food, a huge selection of fine wines and malts, stellar service and an upmarket yet warm and hospitable atmosphere. Please check our Facebook page for details of opening and closing times during the festive season and other holiday. The Grillhouse Rosebank Team 22 years of reminding you why you work so hard!
Reviewed 10 January 2019 via mobile

This is an am amazing venue. Great atmosphere, amazing food and a wine and whisky list bar none. I have visited a number of times on business from Australia and within a handful full of visits they knew my name and were recommending wine and whiskey cheaper than my selections and they were better. Wish Australia had a venue like this. For steak, ribs and game you have to try. I never miss 1 or 2 nights at the Grillhouse when in town. Cannot be beaten. At least once have the springbok carpaccio and try the Monkey Gland sauce

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank vossies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrillhouse_rb, Social Media Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2019

Thank you Vossies for taking time to send us feedback on your experience at The Grillhouse. Your rating and fantastic review is greatly appreciated. Please join us again soonest and don't forget to follow us on social media for awesome promotions and events. Have a great day further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 1 850 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2019 via mobile

This hidden jam of a restaurant has amazing service and one of the most amazing steak I have ever tasted

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank NtuthukoB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrillhouse_rb, Social Media Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2019

Thank you Ntuthuko for taking time to send us feedback on your experience at The Grillhouse. Your rating and review is greatly appreciated. Please join us again soonest and don't forget to follow us on social media for awesome promotions and events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2019 via mobile

The first time I ate here, the food was exquisite. The steak melted in my mouth, the mash and spinach was made to perfection. The second time I went, it was the total opposite.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank kayyyyyyyylag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrillhouse_rb, Social Media Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Good day Kayla. Thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your experience at The Grillhouse, all feedback from our clients whether positive or negative is very welcoming. We strive to provide great food and service and would like to address the experience you had at our restaurant. If you give us an email we will contact you. Thanks and have a great day further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2019 via mobile

Always a delight to eat here. Everything that was ordered was perfect. The best steaks in Johannesburg. I particularly like the pepper crusting that can be requested on the meat and their mushroom sauce is superb. Service is always on point and the ambience just perfect for a fabulous meal. The wine list is amazing . You just can’t go wrong here

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank NatashaDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrillhouse_rb, Social Media Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thank you Natasha for taking time to send us feedback on your experience at The Grillhouse. Your rating and review is greatly appreciated. Please join us again soonest and don't forget to follow us on social media for awesome promotions and events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

Amazing steaks in a great location near the Hyatt hotel. Great wine selection and a cheap price compare with NYC steakhouses

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank AmiTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrillhouse_rb, Social Media Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your experience at The Grillhouse. Your rating and review is greatly appreciated. Please join us again soonest and don't forget to follow us on social media for awesome promotions and events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grillhouse Rosebank also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Grillhouse Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing