We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
cmarsh636809

Great stay in nice location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 04 Oct 2023
We enjoyed our stay. The staff were all so helpful. The restaurant is very elegant with exquisite service an an artistic menu. I do not have more to say and trip advisor should not force me to write 200 characters.
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 17 Oct 2023
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for your great review and associated feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us along with the service level from the staff and the cuisine on offer.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
The Clico Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 953
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 2 953
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 419
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 654
1.5 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 238
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 013
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 713
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 013
5.6 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 765
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    R 1 543
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 343
  • Priceline
    R 1 765
6.9 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 251
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    R 1 240
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 252
  • Priceline
    R 1 251
5.8 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin room
R 1 235
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 797
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 062
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 062
6.5 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 987
R 878
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 878
  • Priceline
    R 878
  • Lol.travel
8.4 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 420
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 263
  • Expedia.com
    R 378
6.5 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
R 9 152
  • Priceline
    R 8 585
  • Agoda.com
    R 7 431
  • Hotels.com
    R 9 736
3.2 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 591
  • Priceline
    R 3 990
17.4 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
290
75
15
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
290
75
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rosebank mall comfortable beds wonderful stay attention to detail stayed longer south africa jo burg garden venue sa neighborhood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2023

This hotel is conveniently located in Upscale Rosebank. It’s easy to Uber to Museums and walk to the Rosebank mall were there is an African arts and crafts marketplace. Breakfast is included and is a delicious choice of Buffet items and ordering off the menu or customizing your own. The breakfast is incredible!
The front office staff are glad to help you navigate your way around for tourist attractions, museums and events. Charlotte & Peggy and full of helpful ideas! The rooms are very small- good for a solo traveler but too tiny for a couple. It’s a great value to have that fabulous breakfast and overall convenience and central location.

Date of stay: September 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lstack115569
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2023

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Clico. Chef Dario de Angeli and his team are doing outstanding work in the kitchen starting with breakfast right through to dinner. The food is really special as you experienced first hand! The Clico staff take pride in creating special Clico memories and we are so pleased that this was true during your stay with us. Clico's location to the Rosebank hub is perfect in that one feels you're not in a city and yet it's accessible to so much of the arts and cultural offerings of Rosebank. We hope you will visit again soon!
Regards
The Clico Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2023 via mobile

We loved our three night stay in this boutique hotel. Our room was very comfortable with a balcony overlooking the pool - perfect for afternoon gin and tonics - and the staff were very welcoming and super helpful. I mistakenly booked our flight from Cape Town into HLA - another Johannesburg airport much farther from town - and Dan met us there without even adding to our pick up cost. A major plus for this hotel is the outstanding restaurant. The breakfast buffet with an additional eggs+ menu was generous and delicious. The dinners were so good we ate there every night. The food was delicious and the service impeccable. I will probably not pass this way again but if I do, I will certainly return here.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank debbietN4673NG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2023

Dear Valued Guest
How wonderful to receive your review. We are so pleased that you loved your stay with us and enjoyed Chef Dario de Angeli and his teams amazing cuisine! The Clico team thrive on such feedback which is so motivational to keep paying attention to the smallest details! Thank you.
Regards
The Clico Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2023

We enjoyed a relaxing ,comfortabke, stay at Clico Boutique hotel.

There were great facilities - pool, outside space and restaurant just a short walk from Rosebank Mall, which we found useful.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and they offered a really efficient laundry service.

Really lovely buliding but some ic the furniture has seen better days

Date of stay: September 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 913debt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2023

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and most especially the restaurant and our location. We constantly work to keep Clico fresh and current and do our best to replace items looking worn. We've taken your welcome feedback on this and will action accordingly.
Regards
The Clico Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2023

The staff were super friendly and went out of their way to make my husband's birthday a special occasion. Chef Dario is a true cullinary artist, I am so happy tp have found him again, 10 years after having the best meal of my life :-)

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2023

Dear Valued Guest
What an incredible review. Thank you so much. We are so pleased to have Chef Dario de Angeli leading the team at Clico and bringing his outstanding skills and passion to all that he does. The team under Dario's guidance take tremendous pride in creating special Clico memories and we are thrilled to have achieved this for yourself and your husband!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Clico in the near future.
Regards
The Clico Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2023

It is a very pretty property with lovely views and a quiet escape from the city. Excellent on-site restaurant and easy walking to Rosebank Mall, galleries and restaurants. The staff are lovely and so helpful. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MHM851
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2023

Dear Valued Guest
We are so pleased that you loved your time at Clico! Chef Dario de Angeli and his team are creating amazing dining experiences for our in house and outside guests. The Clico staff take pride in offering our guests a fabulous experience from arrival to departure. We are thrilled that this was achieved during your stay with us!
We hope to welcome you back to Clico soon!
Regards
The Clico Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews