We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Guillaume10025
New York City, New York

Very nice hotel and staff

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Aug 2023
Great place if you want to stay in Rosebank area.
Very nice staff. In particular at the front desk and very good room.
As seen in other places the very nice bathroom, at l’est in some room, don’t have floor to ceiling doors which can be surprising at first.
Excellent stay.
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 14 Sept 2023
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide this excellent review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
The Clico Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 917
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 917
  • Vio.com
    R 3 874
  • Booking.com
    R 5 200
3.2 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 560
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 200
  • Official Site
    R 2 400
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 200
4.5 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 450
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 224
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 224
  • Priceline
    R 2 660
1.5 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 516
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 013
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 713
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 012
5.6 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 917
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 768
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 768
  • Hyatt.com
    R 2 030
6.9 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 395
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 395
  • StayForLong
    R 1 316
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 395
4.9 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
R 2 873
  • Vio.com
    R 2 873
  • Priceline
    R 2 873
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 873
17.4 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 096
R 878
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 878
  • Agoda.com
    R 878
  • Vio.com
    R 877
8.4 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
SUN1 BEREA EXTERIOR
R 499
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 499
  • Agoda.com
    R 499
  • Vio.com
    R 499
4.5 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free parking
R 1 062
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 855
  • Agoda.com
    R 829
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 046
26.4 km from Clico Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
293
75
15
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
293
75
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rosebank mall comfortable beds wonderful stay attention to detail stayed longer south africa jo burg garden venue sa neighborhood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2023

This is our second stay at the Clico and we were even more impressed this time. Our family had three rooms, and all were quite satisfactory. We found the glass door to the bathroom a bit odd. The grounds are lovely. The restaurant is nearly amazing, from breakfast to the wine list at dinner. Being walking distance from the Rosebanks mall enabled us to get out for some exercise after the long transoceanic flight.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2023

Dear Valued Guest
The Clico Team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, once again! Clico opened in July 2006 and over these past 17 years, work diligently to ensure fabulous guest experiences such as yours. Consistency of standards is what we take pride in. Chef Dario de Angeli has taken Clico's food offering to new levels, starting guests off with the amazing breakfast spread right through to incredible dinners!
We hope we can welcome you back a third time in the not too distant future.
Regards
The Clico Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2023

We enjoyed staying at Clico Hotel in Johannesburg, exceeded all my expectations. It is an elegant boutique hotel, We loved by its vintage charm blending seamlessly with modern amenities .Incredible shower. It was spacious, had great water pressure, The attention to detail was evident throughout, and the comfortable mattress combined with the soft and luxurious sheets ensured a restful night's sleep.

The restaurant at Clico Hotel was a true gem, especially on a winter night. It had a cozy and quiet ambiance, perfect for a relaxed evening. The elegant decor added a touch of sophistication, yet it remained comfortable and inviting. The menu offered many options, including several vegetarian dishes, catering to a variety of dietary preferences. I thoroughly enjoyed the food and service.
Another advantage of staying at Clico Hotel is its convenient location. Situated near a large shopping center, I had easy access to a wide range of stores and amenities. Additionally, the Sunday marketplace was just a stone's throw away, providing a delightful opportunity to explore local crafts and produce.
For those seeking alternative dining options, I discovered another fantastic restaurant, Marble just a block away from the hotel. While it was close enough to walk, I would recommend exercising caution when returning at night. Nevertheless, the short stroll was worth it, as the trendy restaurant offered exceptional cuisine and a vibrant atmosphere. I am already looking forward to returning to Johannesburg, and without a doubt, I will choose to stay at Clico Hotel again.

Date of stay: June 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chucklesalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2023

Dear Valued Guest
Your review was incredible to receive - thank you so much. All that it contained reinforces the great work that The Clico Team are doing. Your feedback provides an excellent overview of what we are striving to achieve - a great hotel experience along with fabulous food.
We are so looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
The Clico Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2023

Good and safe location, not too far from city centre, also very close to JNB Zoo (which is a nice thing to do with kids or if you have plenty of time befor or after your flight...). Amazing food, nice and bright rooms, pool area very green and welcoming.

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nya81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2023

Dear Valued Guest
We appreciated receiving your fantastic review and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Clico Team are motivated through such positive feedback, including Chef Dario and his team who are offering incredible food for our in house and outside guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
The Clico Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2023 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here - the place is intimate, well run, and looks beautiful.

The room was large, well equipped, and had a cute balcony with a nice view of the garden and the pool. Food at the restaurant was excellent too, I didn’t feel like eating anywhere else. Staff was lovely across the board, especially the ladies at the front desk, the security guards, and Spencer at the restaurant. The location was good - an easy walk to Rosebank Mall or Keyes Art Mile (during the day), and quick cab rides to most places of note in Joburg. They also helped me arrange a great airport transfer service.

I didn’t really have any complaints. At best, I’d ask them to soundproof their rooms a little better as the sounds from the reception, street, and pool could carry quite easily (however it was quiet when I stayed). Also, the hotel could think of leaving a small token for guests staying here over special occasions like most other hotels do - I checked in on my birthday and was solo, so it would’ve been a nice touch to have atleast a birthday card in the room (small oversight, I suppose, but every other place in SA I stayed at did make it a point to do a mini celebration of sorts the moment I checked in).

Room tip: If you’re a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the street and restaurant. Upper floor rooms with shared terrace have sunset views.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank prayashgiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2023

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for providing such a balanced review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us but apologise for having missed the opportunity to spoil you on your birthday.
We really appreciate the support provided to us and that you enjoyed the meals at Clico. Chef Dario is an exceptional chef and he and his team are creating amazing dishes for our in house and outside guests.
Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future and we'll most definitely make up for our 'miss' of recognising you on your birthday!
Regards
The Clico Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2023

Very accommodating staff. We needed to set up a virtual court hearing in a bedroom at the last minute. They extended check-out, set up tables and chairs and kept the noise down.

The food at dinner was outstanding.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alasdair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette Schwegman, Owner at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2023

Dear Valued Guest
The Clico Team led by Chef Dario de Angeli are most appreciative of your review. Thank you for having taken the time to do this. Chef Dario is working his magic at Clico and we are so pleased that your dinner experience was a great one.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
The Clico Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews